We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest welcome ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manata Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Manata Lodge to your Saves list
Manata Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   111A Tuckers Beach Road, Lower Shotover 9371, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Warmest welcome ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We cannot speak highly enough of Sarah, Warren and Ethel and Manata Lodge. We were warmly welcomed by Sarah and as we strolled across the lawn Warren caught up with us to welcome and chat to us. The amenities are of the highest standard and we were very comfortable. It happened Warren and Ethel were hosting, free of charge, 10 young people who were on a leadership programme. They invited us into their home to meet and share the evening with them. They are truly inspriational and we will remember that experience for a very long time. We were made to feel like family and I am sure we will return. Thank you sincerely for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Any room would be most suitable. They all have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Manata Lodge recently having done the Otago Rail Trail. Our stay was just amazing. The Lodge is so beautiful and every little detail has been considered, from underfloor heating to georgeous showers and and a bed fit for a queen. The views are superb, and the people are wonderful. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. We would certainly recommend Manata to anyone lucky enough to have found this haven!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was on my honeymoon and stayed at Manata Lodge 23/03/2013 it was such a beautiful place to stay , everyting and more than what we needed, we had a room that was was the size of my house lol, with all uptodate mod coms, and also had outdoor area where we used bbq and outdoor seating which was next to the tennis court which also was available to use, the grounds were superb and pure tranquility. I would definetely go back again I would like to thank you so much its the prettiest place I have ever stayed at and I do travel a lot and it certainly made our honeymoon very romantic and special xxx Cherie & Tony Kelk

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband & I were lucky enough to stay at Manata Lodge on our honeymoon & loved it so much that we stay here every time we come to New Zealand. The views are breathtaking, the location makes it easy to go different places, the locals are very friendly & the manager/owners are very accommodating & hospitable. The rooms are magnificent with French doors onto glorious grounds with a tennis court, pool, spa & sauna for the guests to use & best of all...it is private & serene. Anything u want or need is available or can be made available if requested.

We have also had NZ & Australian family & friends stay there who have loved it that much that they too have recommended it to others.

So, I suggest if u haven't been to Manata u should go. You won't be disappointed!

Very happy holiday couple

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Recently I stayed at Manata Lodge.
On arrival I thought that the lodge looked well kept and hospitable, even though no one was there to meet me or to check me in or run through the features of the room.

After that first impression, my opinion change.
My room was not serviced once during my stay. I did get a change of towels once. No clean sheets, nor was the rubbish bin emptied, nor was the bathroom cleaned nor was the carpet vacuumed.

The room compendium is so fundamental. It does not give any instructions on the operation of the TV/DVD players, the in-room cooking features, use of the laundry or the correct use of heaters.

The wardrobe had 3 coat-hangers, non suitable to hang trousers only coats.

The chairs in the room are starting to fall apart as the joints are opening up quite badly.

The Manager, I believe as I took a business card, is Sarah Wilkinson.
If this is the standard that is allowed by the Manager I would seriously consider another operator.

With the room rates being comparable to Queenstown Hotels and with such a lack of care and service I would not recommend Manata Lodge to future guests. I am sure there are better value, better serviced and better located accommodation to choose from.

Room Tip: Look for alternate accommodation where the management cares.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManataLodge, Manager at Manata Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to respond to this review as it seems to stand out from some of the lovely reviews we have had. We always appreciate feedback,good or bad, however we find some the points that you have made to be incorrect or misleading.

We are not always informed of our guests arrival time so we do make arrangements for our guests to be able check themselves in; we leave a welcome letter explaining all there is to know, with a telephone number for our guests to call on arrival. The onsite owners are never far away and if required we can be with you in a few minutes. One of the features enjoyed by many of our guests at Manata is the freedom and peace during their stay.

Regarding housekeeping, which is done daily with the exception of Sunday’s, there are clear instructions in the bathroom to leave towels on the floor if you would like them changing and similarly with the bed linen there is a sign for you to leave out to request for a bed linen change. Sorry that you didn't notice your room being serviced, however if you did not request for new linen by leaving out the sign, it is our policy to assume that you did not want fresh linen every day.

I can confirm that there is a compendium in each room explaining about Manata and the services we offer. This also includes local information and maps you may require. Within this compendium you will also find the instruction on how to use the television and DVD player. While we felt the 2 hob cooker and electric heater needed no explanation, we take on board that should guests wish to use the microwave it should perhaps have some clarification in the compendium as all models do differ, thus it has been done.

Just to cover the final points you made, we are aware of some slight damage to one of the chairs and apologise for this. However, we are excited to confirm that in May Manata is being fitted with new carpets and furniture. Whilst we think Manata is still looking beautiful at the moment it will be lovely to make further improvements. As for the location, Manata is situated in beautiful country settings just 10 minutes from downtown, it is somewhere you visit to rejuvenate and relax in the peaceful surroundings.

I’m sorry you were so disappointed with your stay and that you waited until after you left to inform us of these matters rather than informing us at time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife, son and I recently had an incredible two night stay at Manata Lodge with hosts Warren and Ethel White. The lodge, location and hospitality were spectacular. We highly recommend Manata Lodge. We were welcomed like we were family and look forward to returning again to this fantastic place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very clean and comfortable, we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. Beautiful grounds, quiet and peaceful, amazing views. Sarah the manager was very helpful.
Easy to find. We stayed in the Wakatipu suite. Only one bike was working would be great to have the other one fixed as some lovely places to cycle eg lake Hayes. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manata Lodge

Address: 111A Tuckers Beach Road, Lower Shotover 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lower Shotover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Shotover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manata Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manata Lodge is your perfect accommodation choice when visiting Queenstown, one of the world's top vacation destinations. Our stunning location, beautiful suites and outstanding Kiwi service combine to provide the ideal staging point for your Southern Lakes adventure. Whether you're visiting for a weekend escape, a ski or hiking vacation, a wedding or a long stay; the surroundings, the ambiance, the design, the attention to detail and the welcome combine to form a package which represents the very best of New Zealand hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Manata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manata Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.