We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holding on to values” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angie's Main Cafe

Angie's Main Cafe
132 S Main St, Shawano, WI
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Shawano
Cuisines: Diner
Description: Phone: (715) 524-6240
Restaurant details
Description: Phone: (715) 524-6240
Wausau
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Holding on to values”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

You can buy an old dinner, you can build a new dinner and try and make it look old. You can try and cook with old family recipes. But you can not duplicate down home goodness. Eating here is like a warm hug at grandmas house. Nothing fancy about it, no efforts to be excellent, just inherently excellent. Calms the sole to dine here.

This is worth getting off the highway for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clintonville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Diner/Cafe goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Angie really has a way to make you feel at home as well as make you a great meal. The decor really takes you back to the good old days in a real sense. Not a made up 50's diner, but the real thing. There are pics on the wall that show what it looked like many years ago and it still looks pretty much the same. If the atmosphere of Angie's isn't enough, wait till the food arrives. Angie's makes real food that is fresh to order and tastes fantastic every time. We have been there many times and usually for breakfast. They offer some great alternatives to the norm like potato pancakes with apple sauce(yum). I really like the biscuits and gravy with a egg on top! And their homemade bread and jams really show that they care about the quality food they serve.
If you don't see it on the menu, just ask and maybe they will whip up what you are craving. Occasionally I crave a breakfast BLT(BLT sandwich on homemade toast with a fried egg and cheese thrown in) and Angie's makes it a winner every time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wis.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Looking For A Hometown Cafe, Old Fashion Goodness, Then Your At The Right Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did Angie's, after my wife said you remember back in the day, when Dehns ice cream was around and the day's of Woolworths???

Green Bay People should remember these. We did breakfast at Angie's and was hungry and had a big breakfast that July morning. We knew with the fourth of July just being around the corner, it would be busy and still the staff did an awesome job

I had eggs, pancakes, bacon and hash browns and everything was prepared like home style and homemade cooking. Taste and flavors were great as well as the waitress keeping the coffee cup filled to the brim. My wife had the veggie omelet and it was awesome for a veggie style egg dish.

The neat thing about Angies location on main Street, is that the décor brings back some of the old fashion Dehn's Ice cream parlor with some of the décor from photos to counter seats.
They have both counter and tables for your dinning pleasure and service is excellent.

As others have said, there is no doubt that sometimes your best surprises in dinning come in the off beat locations in the smaller towns,

overall they offer a diverse menu and prices are good. The overall visit would make me go here again either for breakfast or lunch. I don't think you can go wrong here from the food to nostalgia and history, it is well worth the visit.

Go Enjoy

Snowman :O)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hometown Cafe, home style cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Yeah, the decor is a little dated, but it wouldn't be the same any other way. The food is made fresh within your view. Awesome prices, quality and service. They will make anythng you want, you just have to ask.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We live in Shawano about half of the year and have had a place in Shawano my whole life. I look forward to getting back any time I'm in Shawano to eat. The food is excellent and served by courteous hometown folks who seem to know everyone. The potato pancakes are (almost) as good as my mom's! And where else can you get walleye and eggs for breakfast - yeah, life is good!
Even the building has a fun history - it used to be Dehn's Ice Cream back when I was a kid in the 60's. they've kept the tin ceiling and cool "multiple u-shape" counter. Angie even has special days with music and Pig's Dinner (Dehn's old style banana split served in a wax paper lined wooden trough!)
Don't go if you're looking for a fancy dinner in a fancy place - go for the friendly old style diner food and folks! It's definitely a place out of history and fun old fashioned dinners - AND for those looking for healthy eats, Angie's has that too.
What are you still waiting for - GO!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angie's Main Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Angie's Main Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angie's Main Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.