We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight A's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano to your Saves list
Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   W 7393 River Bend Road, Hwy 29 & Hwy 22, Shawano, WI 54166 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off when you call us
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shawano
Ashland, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Straight A's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Thank you for making our visit to Shawano a pleasant experience. Your front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The beds were very comfy and much appreciated after a full day of meetings and such. The breakfast had a nice variety and was well maintained. No having to wait for the waffle machines and everything was so fresh and appetizing. We loved the relaxing time in the well maintained pool and hot tub. We'd definitely recommend this particular hotel to anyone traveling for whatever reason. Straight A report card from us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacy h, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with our hotel. We appreciate your input and positive feed back. We value all guest insight and we are always looking to find ways to improve guest satisfaction. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

While this hotel wasn't fancy pants, it was clean and the staff was friendly. We stayed there for two nights, and the bed was comfortable and clean. The pool and hot tub were also well maintained. I didnt have the breakfast bar because I don't wake up early enough, but it looked like it had all the hotel continental breakfast basics. I did have several cups of the coffee in the lobby, and it was fairly good coffee.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacy h, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a complimentry review of your most recent stay at our hotel.
We value your patronage and appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had a room on the third floor. The wifi signal was weak and internet was super slow. The room was clean and comfy. We were able to park our motorcycles under the overhang by the front door. The breakfast average. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacy h, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review . Please know that your comments and positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We value all our guests comments and utilize your responses to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My mom and I were unlucky at the Comfort Inn in Shawano. We checked in early to get ready for a wedding. I had just plugged in my curling iron and BAM! A huge bang and the lights went out in the bathroom. We blew a fuse. I called the desk, and 20 minutes later, I called again. Finally, after 30 minutes the lights came on again. We could use the bathroom. Except the faucet squirted a stream of water right at you. You had to stand to the side to use it. That night, using the bathroom in the middle of the night, I noticed a white light (like lightening) flashing near the hair dryer. I unplugged it. I figure this must be what fried my curling iron.
The room was comfortable otherwise. Although 8 hard pillows on 2 queen beds is probably an overkill. If only we'd just asked for a different room right away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel and staff perfectly met the needs of our extended family who was getting together for an important family event. They informed us weeks ahead that the pool would be under construction, and were very accommodating in allowing us to use the breakfast room as a gathering place for some family time instead. The staff and management is top notch and all about service to the customer. Would certainly stay here again. The other properties we considered in Shawano aren't even close to the caliber of this hotel. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel is simple & basic, yet it met our needs and I found it to be a nice place to stay overall. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the pillows soft. Comfortable pillows and beds are very important to me when staying in a hotel and I was pleasantly pleased with this hotel. My only complaint about the hotel room itself was that it did not come with a mini-fridge and the water pressue was too low for the type of shower head. The water didn't spray out of the shower head like it should....it just ran down, because of low pressure. But, the water was at least hot and the bathroom was clean.
The hotel offers a nice pool. However, they could do something to improve the noise level - it was exceptionally loud and I had to leave after awhile.
They offer a decent continental breakfast...not the best food in the world, but your standard complimentary breakfast foods.
We stayed during a kids hockey tournament weekend. Considering the number of kids staying in this hotel, the noise level wasn't bad. Although...parents could have left the knee hockey at home. Kids playing knee hockey in their room on the 2nd floor isn't appreciated by guests staying below on the 1st floor. Some kids were running up & down the halls and knocking on doors...not the fault of the hotel of course. Parents could have done a bit better job managing the kids.
Amico's is in the same parking lot as the hotel, but I did not hear anything positive about eating there. Negative comments were largely based on very poor service....after one hour a table was told they hadn't even started making their pizza yet. I was surprised there were not very many restaurants in town, other than fast-food. We attempted to eat at one local place down the highway (The Lumberyard I believe it was called), but was greeted with a woman swearing under her breath at us. Apparently, she didn't want to surve more than the 2 people already there. So, we ended up driving to Green Bay for lunch. Green Bay is only 30 miles away, so I recommend eating there. There is a Domino's in Shawano, but other peole said it took more than 1 hour for their pizza to arrive. The hotel was great, but the town doesn't offer much for eating establishments if you don't want fast food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This Comfort Inn does all of the basics well. It is clean, has courteous service, the beds are comfortable, and there is a breakfast of sorts. In terms of amenities and decor this is just a very average, slightly outdated place. But when you are looking for a safe and clean place to spend the night it is very good, especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano

Address: W 7393 River Bend Road, Hwy 29 & Hwy 22, Shawano, WI 54166 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Shawano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shawano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Boarders Inn and Suites in Shawano, Wisconsin is at the junction of Highway 29 and Highway 22, minutes from Shawano Lake and the Shawano County Expo Center. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access. Competitive corporate rates are offered. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Boarders Inn and Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Our guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and cable television. We also offer whirlpool suites and business-class rooms. Some rooms come with refrigerators and microwaves. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Boarders Inn and Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, top-notch accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Shawano, Wisconsin area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shawano
Shawano Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boarders Inn and Suites of Shawano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.