We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean small town motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedarberry Inn

Cedarberry Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedarberry Inn to your Saves list
Cedarberry Inn
855 Phillips Boulevard, US Hwy 12, Sauk City, WI 53583   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sauk City
Morrisville, PA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Clean small town motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this quaint motel on our vacation because we were visiting the Wollersheim Winery. It was very clean but the beds were a little uncomfortable and the pillows definitely needed to be replaced. We also tried to turn on the heat and a very strong musty smell came out of the heater. Other than that, the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was basic and could have had a few more fresh items but it was very clean and convenient in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
KaMar4486,
Thanks for taking tome to write a bit about your stay at the Hotel! Pillows are always a little tricky. A lot like Pizza, there are many different favorites! As for the PTech unit and the funky smell, that's the "dust" burning from the coils. Sorry, but It happens anytime the heater is turned on after sitting a bit. You may even notice something similar in the fall at your home or in your car?? As the summer heat turns to cool fall, we fire up all the heating units to eliminate that one-time, burning odor. Again, we're sorry and hope to see you again if you're traveling in the midwest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
11
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Cedarberry inn for business a few times.

It is a nice well appointed inn that makes you feel a bit like home.

The rooms are great, very clean and the staff is very friendly there.

The pool is nice, especially in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Metrology_Solutions, Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your business stay with the Cedarberry Inn! I'm glad you had another pleasant stay and your review lets us know that we are on the right track when it comes to taking care of our customers! --Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a king room which besides the bed and desk had one of the most ridiculously comfortable easy chairs in existence. Beware, if you sit in it you won't want to get up. The room as neat and clean and while the bedding was pretty much up to current standards there are a few things that it would be nice if they caught up on. The television was still of the tube variety which wasn't really a big deal except when that it's much harder than a flat panel to turn so you could see it from the desk. It also didn't have my favorite amenity of a refrigerator, also no microwave but I don't usually miss that. One unusual thing that's neither here nor there is that you still get a real metal key to get into your room. The vanity is in the main part of the room and the tub/shower and toilet are in a separate room, a small, small room.

The staff that I dealt with were incredibly friendly and accommodating. Even the gentleman who asked us to try and keep the noise down a little bit in the meeting room as there were guest rooms above was very pleasant about it.

Breakfast was pretty much standard fare - nothing to complain about but nothing to write home about either.

The biggest problem was with the heat - if you turned it on there was way too much of it. The first night I figured I'd just set it too high and that was the problem. Tried turning it way, way down the second night and it was still uncomfortably hot. Talking to other people it seems mine was not an isolated incident. And I must once more sound off on my pet peeve of hotels calling rooms "suites" just because they want too. I know I have to live with it but I don't have to like their misuse of the English language.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Milwaukee 7 - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Cedarberry Inn. We value all feedback, it's the only way to improve! I'm sorry the heat was too strong and I'm sorry you had to use it in April, this year. (Last year we were in shorts by the end of March!) Glad you liked the recliner and it's comfort! There might be a little confusion about the type of room you had, as all our King Rooms come with a mini-fridge and microwave. You'll be happy to know that we are 50% complete with our flat screen conversion. Thanks again for you feedback and we hope to see you soon! -Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We usually go for a chain type hotel just because you know what to expect. We selected this place last year while traveling over spring break because of a review regarding the pool. We tried it out and have been quiet satisfied. The place is clean and well maintained. I hate cold swimming pools but this one is perfect, not hot and not cold. I'd recommend the Cedarberry to anyone traveling in this area. The owner seems to take pride in his property and it shows.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Todd P - Glad you had another great Spring Break at the Cedarberry Inn! We aren't often thought of as a Spring Break destination, but maybe Sauk City can challenge Dayton Beach!! The pool is larger than most chain hotels and is kept at an inviting 89 degrees. Glad you took a chance on an independent property and we'll look for you next year, if not sooner!? -Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a basic, decent hotel. We were basically only there to sleep, but they do have a rather large pool, by hotel standards. There was no food on site other than the continential breakfast, but many places nearby. The sink area is not separated from the room, so two people will both be awake if one is, but otherwise everything was clean and working. Check in and out was simple and quick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Bob L. - Thanks for taking the time to relay your experience at the Cedarberry Inn. We are happy that you had a good stay. Most of our rooms have the sink and vanity outside of the restroom. (One can be drying their hair and putting make-up on, while the other is in the shower or answering Mother Nature's call) We do have a handful of rooms that have the sink in the restrooms. If we are fortune to have you stay with us in the future, and you prefer the sink in the restroom, please make that request at check-in and we'll get you one of those rooms! It sounds like that is a situation that fits your travel needs best!
Thanks, again!
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stay at the Cedarberry Inn whenever business brings me to this area. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast is basic but always fresh. I love the fact that they still have real keys for their rooms...it takes me back to my childhood. The Cedarberry isn't a large hotel, and they may not have all the bells and whistles, but I have never had a bad experience here. Try a bottle of Wollersheim Wine while you're there. They sell it in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Accountexec2000- I"m glad you appreciate the traditional keys and enjoyed the wine! Sometimes 'bells and whistles' can get in the way of the primary goal of providing clean, comfortable rooms. Thanks for your comments and for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We found ourselves in Sauk City rather by accident but we were delighted with this hotel. We were having a one day of relaxation in what was a hectic 10-day visit to the US. The large, warm, pool with hot tub was therefore perfect for us. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. In the evening we enjoyed excellent steaks in Green Acres restaurant which was just along the road. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sue P.- I'm very glad you found us! Thank you for the kind words and we'll look forward to having you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedarberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarberry Inn

Address: 855 Phillips Boulevard, US Hwy 12, Sauk City, WI 53583
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sauk City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sauk City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come share with us all the natural beauty and excitement of Wisconsin's Heartland. Sauk City and Prairie du Sac (Sauk Prairie) are on the Wisconsin River, only 25 minutes northwest of Madison on Hwy 12. The river offers perfect canoeing, eagle watching, a walleye hot spot and great scenery. Four seasons of fun include fine shops, excellent dining, birding, camping and a fantastic escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cedarberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedarberry Hotel Sauk City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedarberry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.