We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if you are not in a wheelchair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lucerne Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lucerne Inn to your Saves list
The Lucerne Inn
2517 Main Rd., Dedham, ME 04429   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dedham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent if you are not in a wheelchair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at The Lucerne Inn to find a supposedly handicapped-accessible room that had the grab bars by the tub where they belonged, and a shower chair right next to the tub so my husband could put it in right after his own shower -- and a bathroom basin that was high, making me feel like a four-year-old while using it, and deep, causing my knees to smash into it when my husband gave me a push over the threshhold. The entrance to the bathroom was very challenging in a wheelchair.
Other than that, the view was delightful, and their idea of a free continental breakfast was wonderful -- there were scrambled eggs along with the pastries, fruit salad, and coffee, decaf, or tea.
The gas fireplace was nice. The staff was very pleasant. One oddity is that the rooms are accessed through the dining room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us. One of the challenges of a 200 year old building is the layout for guest flow but at the same time i believe that it is also enhances the beauty and character. We hope that you had a great time in Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
74
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whiting, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights, having traveled to the area for our daughter's wedding a few miles away. I thought the room was alright - beautiful views. The bathroom was terrible. Broken tile on the floor, grout missing, paint rubbed off on the vanity so it looked dirty. Even the non-slip tread on the tub were dirty and peeling. Almost no hot water and the shower had poor water pressure.

Additionally, it would seem that with a two night stay we might have had the room cleaned once? Maybe we are past the age when we could get fresh towels daily, but no bed-making or trash pickup for $165 a night? But a nice envelope to remind us to tip the maid. We would have if we'd seen a sign of her!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us but I do wish that we had done a better job for you. I have discussed this in great detail with our head of housekeeping and have been assured that they will initiate a new system so as not to miss our stay over guests. I have also requested our maintenance department to inspect all non slip treads in the bathrooms. The price of $165 must have included food and beverage as I believe that you paid $79 per night. We do try very hard to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliot, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Lucerne Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday. Although we visit the Bangor area occasionally and have enjoyed dinner there several times, we had never had the opportunity to stay there. We stayed in Suite C and were very happy with the accomodations. The main room was large and contained a king sized bed, couch, chair, fireplace, desk, and flat screen TV. The gas fireplace had a timer on it so you could set it to run for a certain time and it would automatically shut off.

The dressing room adjacent to the bathroom also included a Keurig brewer and kcups, which we thought was a nice bonus. The bathroom even contained a towel warmer, something we haven't seen in any other Inns. A large picture window overlooked the grounds and a lake below. It even snowed a little that day, so the view was really nice.

We enjoyed dinner in the dining room the night before Thanksgiving. Our server, Caroline, was very friendly and made us feel right at home by the fireplace. For appetizers, I had the baked stuffed mushrooms which were absolutely delicious. My husband enjoyed scallops wrapped in bacon. There was some type of delicous glaze on the scallops that made them taste out of this world! I had baked stuffed haddock (yummy) and my husband had the "Lucerne delight", a filet mignon with lobster tail. He raved about the dinner for days! The next day we had Thanksgiving dinner in the dining room, enjoying the many tasty offerings from the buffet.

We plan to visit Bangor again next spring and are looking forward to staying in Suite C once again!

Room Tip: Suite C has a king sized bed, fireplace, and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, i means a lot to us that you really enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just finished staying 6 nights here. We had a fantastic time. It was off season so the rate was great and the inn uncrowded and quiet. We had a room in the inn itself. The room had a great view of the lake and the mountains. The beds were super comfortable, towels extra thick, all this and a gas fireplace. Only drawback was that there was limited cable channels. But it did not have any impact on the quality of our stay. We plan to be back sometime during the winter months.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sautee, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a great place for our Grandson's Wedding to a beautiful young Lady. Every thing was great except for a few minor things like a outdated TV (middle 80's) and we were told by the people at check-in that they did not serve breakfast, we would have to drive 10 miles to get it. However, we did the next morning and then we found out that they did serve a type of continental breakfast in the bar. The rehearsal diner was fine.
The Wedding was absolutely fantastic, the food great and the service was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAINEMOMOF2
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our second time staying at this hotel and we love it. Everything is always perfect! It's a great location centered between Bangor and Bar Harbor. The rooms are clean and they all have wonderful views of the lake. The bar has a friendly atmosphere and is a perfect place to sit back and relax. The food is out of this world and the staff is always friendly! I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This wasn't our 1st & won't be our last! The food was Absolutely Delicious as it always has been!
The room was comforting & warm especially with the fireplace. Two of the other accommodating features they are Pet Friendly & A non-Smoking establishment! It is our most favorite place to get away to!
Also, made sure to take all sorts of brochures,we have 3 beautiful daughters & this would be a wonderful choice to have 1 or 3 weddings!!!
~Randi & Tim Plummer

Room Tip: Rooms on the right of entrance are great for asleep in, the sun doesn't come beaming in on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lucerne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Inn

Address: 2517 Main Rd., Dedham, ME 04429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Lucerne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lucerne Hotel Holden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lucerne Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.