We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELUXE LODGE HOMES - ROOMY, COZY, GREAT LAKE VIEW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Black Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Black Bear Lodge
1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint Germain
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DELUXE LODGE HOMES - ROOMY, COZY, GREAT LAKE VIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Friendly knowledgeable staff. Short drive or long walk to highway 70. gorgeous scenery. Good location to restaurants and pubs and snowmobile rental shop. Clean rooms. Nice soaps and shampoos. Hair dryer in bath. Cute dishes in cupboard. Quiet neighbors. Stairs were instantly cleared after snowfall. Bears Den had good beargers and pizza and bloody marys. Only drawbacks would be firm bed/pillow and weak showerhead stream. St. Germain is not as big or crowded as Eagle River area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    32
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Troy, WI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Black Bear Lodge. Their accomodations are far above other hotels in the area. Service/Staff are very efficient and wonderful. We stayed in a lodge home and it was very clean and comfy. Will be back again for New Years!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

October is kind of a strange month to take a vacation, but if you want to see what God created for us the North Woods is the place to go. The colors of the trees and landscape were wonderful. Just wanted to get away for a few days and leave the rest of the world behind. Mission accomplished at the Black Bear... Stayed in a two room cabin that was large, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was set up with everything you needed to cook any type of meal. Most of all the beds were even confortable after a day of play. The restaurant, bar is called the Bear Den. Food was great and the cocktails were even better. The bartender and the wait staff and customers kind of reminded me of the cast of Cheers. We had a good time. Many things to do in the area or just set back and watch the leaves fall. For just a couple I think the suites would be fine and save you a little money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband, five year old son and I had decided to get away for the weekend with our extended family. My husband's family has vacationed in the Northwoods for over thirty years and have always stayed elsewhere. But when I came across the Black Bear Lodge website, I knew instantly that it was the spot for my family. Everyone at the lodge was so friendly and helpful. The Deluxe Lodge Home we stayed in was perfect and cozy. It was a home away from home. The view of the lake was amazing! We will be starting our own family tradition of staying at the Black Bear Lodge when we visit the Northwoods!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The people at Black Bear Lodge make a real effort to see to it that their guests have a memorable stay. My 10 year old son and I stayed for three nights and had a great time. The fishing was excellent, the cabins are awesome, great location on Little St Germain lake, the food at the Bear Den was cooked to order. We will be back next year with the entire extended family. Ask for Diane when making your reservation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our stay at Black Bear Lodge was complemented by excellent and helpful staff, delicious pizza a the Bear's Den, a plethora of activities and all the charm of a northwoods vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

It has really gone downhill since the Misanas took over...Horrible food,rude people..Don't waste your money here whatever you do...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint Germain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Saint Germain
Black Bear Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.