We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were disappointed with our stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau to your Saves list
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Imperial Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54455 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Sparta, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We were disappointed with our stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was glad that the hotel allowed us to have a late check in, because we were traveling across the state after a Packers game. Check in went smooth, because no one was in the lobby at 1am. When we got to our room there were tons of bobby pins on the night stand. My wife said the only person that uses that many would be a bride. Since our stay was on Friday, we figured that they had to be there at least a week. We were in room 307, which is the most expensive room and probably doesn't get rented that often. At least the sheets were clean. The breakfast was very disappointing, basically a continental. I am used to the SCI hot breakfast at the Onalaska, WI location. The sky lights made the room really bright very early in the morning. Not good for sleeping in. While enjoying our morning reading and watching TV we noticed that there was an empty lotion bottle by the couch from the previous guests. There was also a tag from a pair of spandex. Since we checked in so late, my wife didn't get to enjoy the whirlpool. We asked for a late check out so she could spend a few minutes in there. They said we could. That is why I gave them 2 stars instead of one. When my wife was in the tub, the ghosts of weddings past rose up again. There were fake eyelashes stuck to the side of the tub. Not appealing. My wife also had to dust around the edge of the tub. The only way this whole hotel thing works and is palatable is that the hotel must be meticulous enough to make it appear that we are the first guest to ever stay in the room. No one wants to stay in a room where other stranger's skin and dandruff has been sloughing off or they were lounging around on the couch naked or where they had a contest to see who could make it the furthest across the room with the remote control between their butt cheeks. If a hotel does not do a great job of erasing any sign of previous guests, the hotel experience is ruined. We will not choose this hotel for our next stay. The room did have a fridge, fireplace,and microwave, but that did not make our stay more enjoyable. This place has won awards from tripadvisor. It would not have for this room. Checkout was extremely slow.......there was a bride checking in............with tons of bobby pins in her hair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear 6Foot6, Words cannot express our own disappointment for the room conditions that you and your wife experienced. We have won several Trip Advisor recognitions in part because this sort of experience does NOT happen and we will immediately address the situation and get it fixed! My wish is that you would reach out to our management and allow them to make things right for you should you reconsider visiting us again now that you know we’ll get this one time significant inconsistency corrected. Thank you for sharing and for your past patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    49
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
51
37
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a very nice and clean hotel. Very nice décor.

We arrived late (about 11:00 pm) and was met by a very nice gentleman at the front desk.
He upgraded our room to a King Deluxe to get us to the other side of the hotel away from a group that was having a good time. He understood that all we wanted at that time was a nice night sleep.

We will be staying in again in a few weeks.

If there is one down side, room 316 -- the bathroom counter top extends over the toilet and the toilet seat isn't able to be opened all the way, so you have to lean forward. They had some poor design on that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I’ve been coming to this motel for two-plus years now, after having totally dispensed with another motel a little further up the road. Given that I frequent this location and stay at this motel for overnight to weeks at a time, I must say it simply is a great place to stay!

The staff is very accommodating; personalities are welcoming, and the facilities is conscientiously well-maintained. For the record, I am not part of their staff staged to make these commentaries.

I saw a previous review about some recalcitrant soccer mom with her (3) brats whining about the continental breakfast. Lady, take your brats to the Bob Evans. As a parent you are responsible for those kids—it is not the motel’s job to feed your kids—just because you feel “entitled” to go “grazing” for free. A continental breakfast is just that, not a seven course breakfast.

It’s the same kind of parent you see in food stores on Saturday mid-mornings, with not a thing in their shopping cart, but brats running wild, whose presence is solely driven under the auspices of a free meal. If you are offended by “brats running wild”, then take your stupid kids to a Chucky Cheese, or some other theme park where you kids can run unregulated as the new normal for society. Heaven forbid the rest of us call your kid screaming down the hall late night as a corrective measure, and subsequent courtesy to those of us sleeping, given the new age of political correctness with hyper-sensitivity as anything that may be logically is now view as offensive.

This is place is a fantastic Inn and under their purview they continue to do a magnificent job at a very competitive price. They even have a cute little beer bar for socializing, as well as a number of other spots where you can sit down, get comfy, and lose yourself.

As a business traveler I continue to frequent this location without any doubts—given the consistent service that is a hallmark of this particular Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We needed a place to stay during a recent visit, and all of our usual haunts were filled up due to a local softball tourney. However, the other's loss was my gain - this was a really nice place! They take the cabin in the woods theme to all the rooms. Check-in was quick and friendly, and within minutes we were up in our nice, clean 2-bed room. On the first bed was a stuffed raccoon (yours for only $20!) The beds were very comfortable, and there was room to work on a regular sized desk. The bathroom is good sized, though one small problem was the lack of counter space.

In the morning, they have a decent continental breakfast. The day we were there, they served biscuits and gravy, the standard waffle maker, several types of muffins, toast, and yogurt and milk in a fridge. While this wasn't the best breakfast ever, it certainly wasn't the worst either. Checkout was another easy task (and they take pride enough in their place to ask you to go to TripAdvisor to rate them!)

Prices for the rooms were around $100. Probably on the higher end for the area, but they match it with a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bay, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have had to stay in this area several times on my way to receive medical treatment in another state. I'm handicapped and require special accommodations. The staff at this hotel has been amazing. They are warm and friendly and do everything possible to meet the needs of their guests. The rooms are super clean, up to date, cozy and comfortable. The prices are much less than I would have thought for a hotel of this quality.

I would and will recommend this hotel at every opportunity.

Room Tip: Let the management know your needs and you will well taken care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first stay and we had come for an "on-sight" wedding and reception. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the service was superb. From the moment you walk into this hotel you feel like part of their family. It is not only warm and inviting, the staff was accomodating and quick to respond. The breakfast was limited but certainly sufficient for us. Some of my family actually had a fireplace in their rooms which would be excellent for Winter trips into Wisconsin. The ambiance in each room was cozy and I'd stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are driving through Wisconsin and need a fifty yard line to take a break at, this is a pretty good destination. The place is reasonably priced and the rooms are nice and well kept. I have been driving through wisconsin for a couple years and trying to find a reliable steady place where you can safely stop and stay, can be a big challenge. when I am needing to use I 39 corridor this hotel is a destination when the drive takes me into the late night hours. The room rate is competitive and the area attractions are decent and within walking distance which is key when you have been driving for any long stretch. There is a movie theater ,a Mall , and several shopping locations in case you find a need for something. I have stayed here in winter as well as summer and it does not disappoint

Room Tip: frequently this place hosts weddings so ask to stay in a room on a floor where no wedding parties ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Address: 1100 Imperial Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54455 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.