We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Up North Lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Save Saved
You added Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Imperial Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54455 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Milwaukee Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST Up North Lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

After a two-year journey of different Thanksgiving hotel stays near Mosinee to visit my son's in-laws, my third-year stay was the best! Unknown to me before, I cannot praise it enough! I stayed with my 97-yr-old Dad in decor that was comfy northwoods - bear motifs, roaring fireplace in the cosy lobby, inviting pool & hot tub area not overrun by young hockey players. This "chain" does not feel like one but more like a high end boutique hotel. VERY pleasant staff. First time I'd ever seen smart individually-wrapped breakfast treats rather than a buffet of overcooked food that was largely wasted. Smart hotel proprietors! Calm, fun atmosphere - even Santa stayed there & stopped by to say hello during breakfast! Cost was LESS than big chain hotels I'd stayed in past two years. Will stay here again & again in future!

Room Tip: Was with a 97-yr-old so close to lobby & breakfast room - very quiet & calm despite being cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    48
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
48
34
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have stayed at both hotels in this area, and I prefer this one because of the atmosphere & friendly staff. The breakfast has a good variety. The pool area is very inviting. It is always quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a great room for a good price. Very pleasant staff who made us feel welcome. We will stay again if we are in the area

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Although the hotel itself is clean and the people were very friendly, our stay there was not very enjoyable. We had requested a king bed but only received a double. When we asked about why the switch, we got a response that said they must be all taken. We had a late night and wanted to sleep in but the walls are so thin that you could hear every single thing our neighbors and people out in the hallways were saying. Unfortunately because of this, we were awakened at 5:30 a.m. and could not go back to sleep due to the noise. On the outside looking in it was a nice place but not a great place to stay if you want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Sherrie,
I am very sorry to learn of your poor experience in getting the desired accommodation you expected and the resulting noise issues. We will investigate why your room request wasn’t fulfilled and sincerely apologize for that and the noise that kept you from enjoying your stay. While it’s too late to ‘fix’ this, perhaps your kindness in sharing will lead to a better experience for future guests and, should you give us an opportunity to re-earn your business, I know we will perform better. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cook
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

If we're ever back in this area, this will be the place to stay. Everyone and everything was just great. I'd recommend it anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sturgeon bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Every time we go to Wausau we only stay here.When you walk into the rooms everything is so clean and neat.It always smells so fresh and clean.The beds are awesome,a very good nights sleep.Everyone is very friendly.

Room Tip: I don't think theres a bad room in the place.Tell them what your looking for and they'll do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Nice place I have like this location and also the East Peoria location. Not sure how to get points online from website?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcernFixer, Director of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear SW,
Thanks for the kind remarks! Currently, you may obtain your Northwoods Traveler ‘points available’ by either asking the Front Desk during a visit or calling any of our 12 properties as well as our toll free reservations number. Statements are sent each calendar quarter. We will soon be introducing an all new website and it will feature the ability for our members to check their point totals on line. Thank you for your business and your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau

Address: 1100 Imperial Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54455 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Wausau)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center is a family and business friendly hotel located just outside of Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau’s best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms, free breakfast, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. Bring your family along to enjoy our indoor Wilderness Park swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Wausau Hotel Rothschild
Stoney Creek Hotel Wausau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;