We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet & Family-Oriented” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort to your Saves list
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Creske Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet & Family-Oriented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel is set in a small town near Wausau, Wisconsin, U.S.A.. It is tucked toward the back of a shopping center. As such, some of the outer scenery isn't as beautiful a view, but do not be dismayed. Once inside, things have great decor.

Pros: Exceptionally clean - (even the water park bathrooms were clean and dry!) Charming and inviting lobby area. Very comfortable and spacious rooms. Decor is carried through to all aspects of the building. Wonderful TV and fireplace. Water park well kept with much for the young ones.

Cons: The park might be a little too laid back for teens as there are only two full-size water slides. Also, please note that no one under 14 is allowed into the hot tub, even if an adult is with them. Additionally, there is no real restaurant on the property other than a snack bar, conveniently located to the water park. (However, there are several restaurants near the hotel.)

Overall: Great place for a family or a multi-generational getaway.

Helpful Notes: There is a retractable clothesline on the wall of the tub's exterior, which is great for wet swimwear. Also, if you are looking for a hair dryer, check the wicker basket near the ironing board.

Room Tip: Opt for a courtyard view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    37
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
88
7
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The meeting rooms were excellent and provided my group with a location in the state that was convenient! The staff at Grand Lodge is by far some of the best in the state! I was more than impressed with the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff! They did their jobs with smiles on their faces and accomodated the special meal requests I had with grace and kindness. I will be bringing my business here again! My sleeping room was clean and felt "like home", it was also the perfect size and layout for a business traveler.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Had a nice stay at this hotel for 3 nights in one of the themed rooms - very nice option. Unfortunately due to the construction of the building noise travels and it is not as quiet as one would like. The breakfast is a real disappointment. I have seem better in a far less costly motel - that needs some attention.

The staff was extremely friendly and this felt like home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I had a whirlpool room, and it was wonderful. I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the room. I had a king size bed and there was still plenty of room for a loveseat and the whirlpool without making the room feel crowded. I did not use the waterpark, but the wristbands did come with the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our entire team enjoyed the weekend at the Grand Lodge. Located right off the hwy and close to Pick & Save,Subway, Culver's and The Bar, we had no problem keeping the boys fed and getting to the games on time. Dave did an excellent job creating a room block so everyone could easily make their reservations. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The lobby which overlooks the waterpark is filled with comfy sofas and a gas fireplace. It is the perfect spot to unwind after a long day. We'll be booking again next year....excellent quality at an excellent price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel because it was fairly close to Granite Peaks Ski. We got expanded queen Loft suite. Sounded great on the website. The loft however has no beds in it only a chair with a foot stool and some dressers. It looked like they started to build a bedroom up there (which I though it would have) and ran out of money. There is a 1/2 bath and sink up there but that's about it. Totally worthless. There are 2 queen beds where the living room is and a pull out sofa. But if you want a real suite this isn't it. Water park attached to the hotel is just okay for teens. It's mostly great for smaller kids. I will give it a 2 thumbs up for the hot tub. One of the nicest I've been in, which is why I rated this average instead of poor or terrible.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Hhunter,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and especially for the 2 thumbs pointing upward. One of the many things that make our hotel unique is the variety of guest room floor plans we offer and one of the ocassional challenges is matching the guest needs or expectations to those differences. The Loft suite you refer to is especially designed to use the loft as a ‘get-away’ area to read, watch television or create a play or private, quiet area. I just wanted to make sure you understood that it was not an unfinished bedroom, but in fact deliberately designed to use as a separate function space. Again, thanks for your comments and on behalf of our entire team I apologize for and regret your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort

Address: 805 Creske Ave, Rothschild, WI 54474
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort is a hotel located just outside of downtown Wausau, WI in the cozy neighborhood of Rothschild. The hotel is located near the Granite Peak Ski Area and has a reputation as one of Wausau's best hotels. The hotel offers everything that you need for a pleasant stay, including cozy rooms,food service, and Internet access. Our hotel is a unique destination with a "Northwoods" themed decor that is suited for business and pleasure alike. The Grand Lodge is home to one of Wisconsin's most exciting waterparks - Logger's Landing. This 50,000 square foot fun zone is full of excitement and adventure for the entire family. The Grand Lodge is one of the area's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge By Stoney Creek Hotel Rothschild
Hotel At Cedar Creek
Lodge At Cedar Creek
At Cedar Creek Rothschild

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.