We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Imperial Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54474   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Rothschild
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“What a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Very nice hotel with extremely comfortable beds and nicely appointed room. There was a big wedding party going on so I was afraid of noise, but it was very quiet. The pool was great as I had visitors with a small child and the kiddie pool was a huge hit with her. The only thing I might have wished for would have been a better, less carb, breakfast, but that wont keep me from coming back! Bravo Holiiday Inn Rothchild!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
8
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
waukesha, wi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed here over a weekend. The hotel is a popular place. There seemed to be multiple groups staying over saturday night. However, we found our room to be very quiet. Our room did have a common wall with the pool. I would suggest asking for an outside room as we had quite a chlorine smell in our room and we could hear noise from the pool when it was open. Otherwise, everything was clean, the included breakfast was good and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — room was quiet, clean, breakfast was good
  • Disliked — room on pool side had strong chlorine smell
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TobahTobah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Management is nonexistent. Restaurant workers and desk workers could care less. They are rude, and untrained. Heaven forbid you have a problem with something crucial in your room. They will "call someone in from home" who never shows up.

I am writing this in the heat of August, with no AC in the room, having called the front desk about it several hours ago. They said they would call the maintenance person in to fix it but when I call them they say he has not returned the call.

Lousy hotel.

Don't do it.

  • Liked — Nothing, Nada, Zero
  • Disliked — Lack of response by staff to issues
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

I was in the Wausau area for two weeks for work and was put up in this hotel. It is excellent for an extended stay as the room had a dorm size fridge (not your typical microfridge in most hotels) complete with a small freezer. It also had a small sink in which I could do dishes, cupboard space to store food and a microwave. The room was large with two queen beds, large bathroom and large sliding door closet. I took advantage of the continental breakfast only a couple of times as my job required me to be there at 4am, and breakfast starts at 6. The days I did eat at the hotel, there was a variety of cereals, bagels, muffins, bread, different spreads and juices. I would definately stay there again should I ever be in Wausau again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springstead, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed at this Holiday Inn the nite b4 we flew from Mosinee to Hawaii. We booked it with points, and for 10,000 points it is a great stay. The room was starting to show its' age,the little fridge was in bad shape, and the room could have used a good dusting and vaccuum job. We left early at 5:45am, and the coffee/continental breakfast was already set up, which was great and not many Holiday Inns do this little extras.
The Hotel is still good, staff pleasant, amenities great.
The Green Mill Restaurant used to be the best of the best for these; unfortunately, that is not staying the same. The restaurant is way behind in the no smoking eating atmostphere-you have to walk through the bar/smoking area to get to the no smoking area and the ventilation is awful. The bar was not full, with only a few people sitting at the bar, so I would hate to be eating there with a full bar. It is too bad as the food used to be the best-for a Holiday Inn- and the smoke makes it for a bad atmostphere and can't enjoy the meal. Wausau has a complete no-smoking bad for eating establishments, and is worth the 10 minute drive to 2510 Restaurant or the other great restaurants in Wausau. The food is still good at the Green Mill, but the smoking atmosphere and lack of venting makes it for an unenjoyable meal.

  • Liked — used few Priority Club points to stay for one nite
  • Disliked — housekeeping and the smoke filled restaurant atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

Nice enough Holiday Inn but priced out of the area market when compared to other nice hotels in the area. Many other good choices that are a better value

  • Liked — Holiday Inn points
  • Disliked — OVERPRICED!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

We have stayed a few times at the Holiday Inn when visiting family in the area. It is convenient to restaurants and right off the highway. The rooms are always clean and furnishings are comfortable. The pool area is basic but sufficient. The breakfast is a nice touch each morning with rolls, cereals, juice, bagels and coffee. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild

Address: 1000 Imperial Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau/Rothschild, WI features complimentary Continental breakfast, indoor pool, whirlpool, and a large fitness center. Conveniently located and highly visible off I-39/51 exit 185, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Wausau/Rothschild, WI features the Green Mill restaurant and lounge. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau/Rothschild is located 5 miles from the CWA Airport and near many corporate locations such as Wausau Paper, Wausau Financial, Greenheck, Siemens, and Weston Power Plant. During your visit to the Wausau area enjoy some of the local attractions, Granite Peak Ski Area, Leigh Yawkee Art Museum, and the Grand Theater. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Wausau/Rothschild, WI has full service meeting professionals to assist you in all details and set up of your meeting, conference, or banquet event. The hotel offers over 7000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Holiday Inn Rothschild
Rothschild Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.