We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT NICE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Friendship House Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friendship House Family Restaurant
2260 Lincoln Street, Rhinelander, WI 54501
(715) 362-5765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 56 Restaurants in Rhinelander
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Watertown, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“NOT NICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband & I went up north to visit family, we went out to dinner and thought this place would work well, not just burgers. We were seated right away, the waitress took a bit to come over to our table. But when she did she acted annoyed we were there. rude and abrupt was her attitude. My 4 yr old grandson had to use the rest room so we waited for him to return to order, when he returned the waitress demanded " ARE YOU READY YET !? " but then walked over to another table to take their order instead. We had 4 people at the table we were only given one set of utensils the waitress never mentioned the specials, they had all u can eat fish, my son ordered that and said it was ok I guess. My husband ordered the smelt, he said it wasn't too bad, we didn't get the sides of coleslaw as the menu stated and then when we asked for it the waitress seemed annoyed!! Very Very bad service. We had to ask the bus boy for more silverware for our table and waters. my son asked right away for another helping of all you can eat fish, 20 minutes and still no fish, we were just about finished with our dinner when she brought more fish. My Ruben was terrible, the sauerkraut was burnt and the meat seemed old and tough. The bill was too much for the quality and non quantity of the food we finally got. not to mention no refills on drinks or asked how was everything...
We noticed when the boss came out on the floor she was acting nicer to some of the other people in the restaurant thou...won't be returning there....ever !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littlefork, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Low Prices, Lots of Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Don't expect fancy food for $8! What you get here is diner food. It's completely edible and you'll have leftovers. It was such a low price for dinner we took pieces of pie to go - they were enormous! The waitstaff was very friendly. The restaurant was full. Yes, parts of our meal looked "off color". You're not going to get farmer market fresh for $8 dinner special. You're going to get canned peas as the veg. Not the best meal ever, but great value!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food color gone terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have been eating at this resturant for over 4 years. The menu is so large it makes it hard to decide, you spend more time reading the menu then you do eating your food. I have found that the quality of food has been getting worse with each visit. The yellow food coloring is the absolute worst, you can tell that majority of the foods are frozen or canned and terrible tasting. Fresh foods are a not used at all. They have a few specials that are so hard to eat, they dont look appetizing and taste worse then they look. The deserts are the better of the food items, but some things you can tell are not fresh. The decor is old and out-dated.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rinelander, Wi.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cook the Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The service was good the price was right but, could they cook the food? The polish was cold sent back twice potatoes were not cooked at all and the pancakes were tough. How can you make tough pancakes?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We were traveling through and like to eat at "local" places. This is in an old Wendys restaurant building but the resrmblance ends the minute you walk in the door. The food was fabulous and there was more than you could hope to eat. Great value for your money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendship House Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Friendship House Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendship House Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.