We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - Absolutely Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   668 West Kemp Street, Highway US 8 & WI 47, Rhinelander, WI 54501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible - Absolutely Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

On a family road trip home from military duty, we stopped in Rhinelander to stay overnight. First room completely smelled like cat urine. I was told that after pets stay in a room, the room is steam cleaned. I think they missed this one. We were moved to another room that also had a smell (not old hotel smell) but a combination of cigarettes and urine. Tried to move again, but was told there weren't anymore double rooms available. The carpet was gross (greasy actually). The screen window was bent allowing bugs to fly in, and the wall paper was peeling in multiple places. The lobby looks nice enough, the breakfast was okay, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The "heated" pool isn't heated at all. It was the coldest water I've experienced since doing a polar plunge in January. My kids looked like smurfs when they got out of the water. Overall, we left with that "icky" feeling after our stay.
I've stayed with this chain many times over the years for work and personal travel without incident, but this one is definitely off of the if I ever stay in Rhinelander again. Unfortunately, there is a lot to choose from in the area.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    15
    16
    10
See reviews for
19
20
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel is older but clean. Very good continental bkfst options HUGE pool which was great, the whirlpool could use an upsate but worked just fine. Ok workout room, older equipment. I would come again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We were meeting some family in this area and decided to stay at this hotel. All around it was really nice- the garden gazebo area the pool was big and the rooms were bright. The breakfast was really good especially the sausage and eggs. I thought it was a good place to stay nothing to extraordinary but nice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in two adjoining rooms over Memorial weekend, 2013, while we attended a family reunion. Other family members were in 4 other rooms as well. The motel actually looks better than the pictures. It has nice Northwoods decor. The rooms were clean, pleasant, and temperature control was fine. Our rooms adjoined well. The food was good, there was plenty of it, and there was plenty of seating. We particularly like the large swimming pool where you can swim laps! The hot tub is set apart from the pool and that was very nice as well. Only drawback was that there were not any clean towels at the pool either of the two evenings we swam there. We used beach towels we had brought.

Room Tip: Handicapped rooms are on the first floor, so if you want to be on the first floor, request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bit rundown, security lock not working, fast free internet. comfortable beds, lots of hot water and good shower. decent sized rooms, quiet. Decent breakfast. Decent pricing-good value.
good air conditioning. very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice room with newer furnishings, microwave and refrigerator. Hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, yogurt, waffles, toast, juice, 3 kinds of cereal, apples and oranges. Business center with printer. Exercise room with water cooler and towels. Pool and pool room. The only negative is that the landscaping and grounds need attention. The lawn was unkept and the planter at the front door was bare dirt. The exterior of the hotel was recently painted or stained and looked good. The landscaping makes it look a little rundown, but the inside were it counts is nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Horeb WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We use this hotel frequently for visiting relatives.

It serves the purpose well. There is nothing fancy here, but nothing offensive really either. Rooms are clean and quiet, beds are comfortable. Rooms have small fridge, decent TV, shower/tub, adequate space for storage in the bathroom.

Price is good, service is welcoming and nice.
Pool and sauna are just fine, kids enjoy them. There is a small workout area with only a couple machines available.

We do enjoy the king suite rooms with the in room whirlpool and attached sitting area, we usually try and get those rooms if available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 668 West Kemp Street, Highway US 8 & WI 47, Rhinelander, WI 54501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rhinelander
Quality Inn Rhinelander
Holiday Inn Rhinelander
Rhinelander Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.