We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bakery on the Planet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O&H Danish Bakery

O&H Danish Bakery
1841 Douglas Ave, Racine, WI 53402-4611
262-637-8895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 215 Restaurants in Racine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert, Bakeries, Donuts, Danish
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Parkdale, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Bakery on the Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I live in Australia now, but whenever I get back to Racine I have to stop at O&H for their chocolate-frosted custard-filled doughnuts. I'm drooling now just thinking about them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    18
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Kringle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

O &H Bakery has the best Kringle you have ever tasted. Lots of flavors like cherry, pecan, turtle and many more too numerous to mention. They ship all over the U.S. Once you try it you will be hooked for life.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“O&H Does Danish like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you have never had kringle or if you have had the mediocre replica of kringle from your local grocery you have got to have REAL Kringle ala O&H and you will never accept a substitute again. Whether traditional fruit or nut is your thing or the non-traditional contemporary turtle, chocolate and special flavors - you are going to love REAL kringle. Made with pounds of butter, layers and layers of thin rolled crust and delicious fillings. This is how kringle was meant to be. can be frozen and shared later. My dad always gets a dozen and hands them out as gifts, mine never last long enough to be frozen. They ship well and make wonderful gifts. The cakes and other bakery are also outstanding. My favorite is Seven Sisters - a sure hit whomever you are serving.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Kringle to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I grew up in racine and thought Kringle was part if everyone's life. Not so. It is a treat. All the flavors. My favorite is pecan and raspberry a close second When ever is come back to visit I bring them back in my luggage Also game my friend ship them in a priority box. A lot less then from the bakery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I usually love the products at O&H. I have gotten Kringle, cakes and various pastries from here. I am from Racine and now live in Kenosha. I ordered my sons cake from O&H only to find that it was dry and tasted as if it was old, or maybe had been baked a few days earlier. I called and spoke to the manager, she was rude RUDE! I brought the cake in and she opened the package in front of the other customers and proceeded to sample it herself. She then told me she did not agree with me and told me to take my cake. I was surprised at her attitude and informed her that I had, in fact, spoken to someone from the main bakery(Douglas Ave) who told me they would re do the cake for me but I had mistakenly called Douglas not Durand. She then reluctantly agreed to make my son a smaller cake and acted like she was doing me a grand favor. I am not sure what she thought I was trying to do. The cake had only a few pieces missing and I told her she could throw it away if she felt like it. So what kind of scam did she think I was trying? The cake was dry and no one liked it at all. It was the first bad experience and has since made me think twice about going to this bakery. She was rude and mean and ridiculous if she thought I would take the cake back after she ate from it. I did get the smaller cake and it was not decorated correctly but I took it and have stayed away since preferring to either travel from Kenosha all the way to the Douglas Ave Store or just endure the bland taste of Paiellis here in Kenosha. At least they have never treated me like this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter O, Public Relations Manager at O&H Danish Bakery, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are very sorry that you had a poor experience at our Durand Avenue location with the cake that you ordered for your son. We hold high standards for excellence in customer service in our stores and with our products and are disappointed to hear that you did not experience the high standards that we expect. We would like to gather more information from you regarding this experience so we can improve our customer service experience for you and all of our customers. Please contact us at 1-877-369-3565 between 8am and 4pm CST. We would appreciate any other feedback you can provide. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O&H Danish Bakery also viewed

 

Been to O&H Danish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O&H Danish Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.