We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, below average food (except for a very good Caesar salad)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Restaurant

Summit Restaurant
6825 Washington Ave, Racine, WI 53406-3927
262-886-9866
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 215 Restaurants in Racine
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Wappingers Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service, below average food (except for a very good Caesar salad)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The service was great.

Considering this is generally considered a high end restaurant (at least for Racine) I was disappointed in my main course. Although the preparation was stated as "simple" on the menu, I (wrongly) assumed this would be better than something I could throw together at home in under ten minutes -- it wasn't.

The Caesar salad was very good. In hindsight, I should have headed out for dessert after that!

My brother enjoyed his dish -- BBQ ribs.

Atmosphere is very nice, so if you order the right meal, you've got a good night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    8
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Above average food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Upon entering a serious faced host greeted us. We tried to get a smile but zero reaction. I said 2 for lunch and the response was we start serving dinner at 1:30 - do you still want to stay for dinner? We felt we were perhaps judged by our casual dress.

The restaurant was so dark we could not read the menu and were moved near the window. Many restaurants dinner menus are close to double in cost compared to lunch but Summit had several meals that were more reasonably priced. We had beer-battered fish dinner which was 3 (huge) pieces, or for $3 more ($13) all you can eat. It came with soup or salad, a side of coleslaw, bread basket, and choices of potato including potato pancakes. Appetizers - onion strings (enough to serve 6 people!) and bacon-wrapped water chestnuts were outstanding. Service was friendly and prompt. Despite the fact they were no longer honoring the restaurant.com coupon I'd purchased in January, we would return. Portions were ample and well above average in taste and presentation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, even Better Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My mom and I go to dinner here every couple of weeks and for all holidays! Food is very good, especially chef specials! Wait staff is efficient and very friendly! Sharon is the best! She always makes us feel like we're coming to her house for dinner! Highly recommend the Friday Fish Fry and Sunday brunch! Great food, friendly and efficient service! We go there as often as we can!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awsome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Out on daddy daughter date night. Great meal from apps to coffee!!
Our waitress (Sharon) was the friendliest and efficient ever!
We will return!

D and M

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good value for AYC Friday fish fry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went with a friend for the Friday night fish fry. The hostess seated us quickly, but the server did not come by for over 10 minutes. Another server came over after noticing us waiting and got our drink orders . She said she would let the server know we were seated and ready to order. The server did come, and took our orders. She was not very attentive, only came over once to see if we wanted another order of the all you can eat fish.
Food was good and a good value for the money. The atmosphere is faily modern, it was somewhat noisy and very open.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn-Racine, Manager at Summit Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
There should never be a noticeable wait for a server to greet you. Most servers are taking care of four table sections, all in a general area of each other...service should be bullet proof. ...... I'm happy your food was not affected.

We do have training servers and sometimes even regular servers may have an off night. In any event I hope the problem will not deter you from future visits. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summit Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Summit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.