We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corner House

Corner House
1521 Washington Ave, Racine, WI 53403-2088
262-637-1295
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 215 Restaurants in Racine
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice dinner spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nicer restaurant (ie Table clothes, nice napkins, etc). Food was good... we had the oysters appetizer - excellent! Pleasant server.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    27
    16
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Villa, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Prime rib? This is the place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you are looking for outstanding prime rib, this is the best we've had and we've eaten in many of Chicago's finest. Corner House is typical of a Wisconsin supper club (which we enjoy) with tablecloths and dark wood interior. You can tell the locals come here to eat as the servers know many of the people by name.

For those of you who enjoy "end cuts", they are available if you get there when the restaurant opens for dinner and according to my family are the best. Entrees come with warm bread, soup, salad and for around $25 for the average cut of prime is well worth the price.

It's a little out of the way, closer to Lake Michigan than the interstate, but if you are looking for a prime rib fix, this is the place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dying Gasp”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place needs a complete remodel. Also it is in a rotten location with a guard to watch your car (and you) in the parking lot. Had reservations and still had to wait over 40 minute for a table. Then waited another 15 minutes before the waitress came. Ordered the house special of prime rib and they all came very well done when we ordered rare. Food seemed to be dumped on the table as the appetizer, salads, and entrees all arrived within a period of 5 minutes. Save your money and avoid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Some things are good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We took a large group there for mothers day and were very disappointed. A couple of our family had prime rib and they were very happy, but the rest of us all experienced over cooked, tasteless food. The french onion soup was delicious also. But overall, just not worth the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
495 reviews 495 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“They Ran Out Of Roast Beef.......now really”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

When we come to Racine, we like to come to the Corner House because it is what it is..........and we love the prime rib and potato skins.

We flew from Palm Beach to visit the Racine Art Museum and have dinner with the Director, his wife and Chief Curator...........we were very excited to return to the Corner House and have what we always have......so you can imagine our disappointment (and shock) when our waitress said "we ran out of roast beef".

5 of us, in unison, said "are you kidding"? It was 8:15pm, Saturday night, and she wasn't kidding. The owner was embarrassed and, frankly, couldn't believe it himself. A roast beef house running out of roast beef is right up there with McDonald's running out of hamburgers in the middle of lunch.............and under the eyes of the owner?????

Unacceptable.

I had a rib steak that was tough to cut and to chew. Others had filet and reported that it was excellent.........soft and tasty.

Next time we come, in a year or two, we will call in the afternoon to make sure this does not happen again. These are very nice people..........but really.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner House also viewed

 

Been to Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.