We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Ridge Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Princeton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorn Ridge Motel
Save
You added Acorn Ridge Motel to your Saves list
W3910 State Road 23 73, Princeton, WI 54968   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Princeton
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was ideal for a short getaway to Princeton with my daughter! We don't require "luxury," but we do want to stay in a clean, well-maintained property, and Acorn Ridge did not disappoint in any way. We like staying in "traditional" motels and we felt safe and welcome. The on-site owners are very friendly and accommodating, and there is just a good energy about the place. It was the very first room I've stayed in that actually had a nightlight in the bathroom, custom-commissioned by the owners to fit the acorn theme. Nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a repeat stay and each time I am here, I have another great experience. The owners are friendly and very accommodating. Again, the rooms were very clean. There is a fantastic restaurant right across the street that has a new Chef and full menu. If you want to stay in the country but have the convenience of the city, this is your place. We found two additional restaurants recommended by the motel owners close by that had fantastic food. One served all you can eat prime rib which was to die for. The other was on a lake nearby that had a one pound boneless pork chop that looked like a small pork roast. Staying at Acorn Ridge you will lack nothing but you will leave with a feeling that you went back in time. If you are near central Wisconsin Princeton Green Lake area you owe it to yourself to stay here. Sit out on the deck and look at the stars. The owners, Eric and Linda may even come out to join you. They are wonderful people and I have been very lucky to get to know them while coming here for the past six years. It truly is an experience that you cannot find at a major chain hotel. Tell them that Dr. Bob from Knoxville recommended it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have already booked a second stay at this hotel. I've seen some of the reviews of this hotel calling it "dated"; however, the dated look of this hotel is INTENTIONAL. (not to mention, spotlessly CLEAN!) This is an old fashioned, road side motel. From the outdoor authentic road side neon sign, to the touches in each room, you don't find hotels like this any more.

Pink bathroom tiles and counter tops, colored toilets, stainless steel "Kleenex" wall mounted tissue holders, late 60's wall sconces, wood paneling, stained glass night lights in the bathroom, are a few of the touches you will see here. The decor is not outdated, it is restored. The carpet was recently shampooed. The grout is bright white. The windows are new and open and close easily. The air conditioners even appear to be "vintage" and work well. I can see this as a great place to stay for anyone coming to shop, antique or simply interested in "Americana".

I cannot say enough about the hosts. Next to the office is a small deck with patio chairs. We sat and relaxed for a bit and invited the owner, Linda, to join us. She told us about the area, the hotel, the nearby restaurants and treated us like guests in her own home. I've yet to stay in ANY chain motel who treated me so well. And I've NEVER stayed in a chain motel that was so CLEAN. I wasn't afraid to touch anything at the Acorn.

As we saw, there were many, many repeat visitors there who knew the hosts by name and also knew that this was "the" place to stay when traveling near Princeton, WI. Upon leaving, the hosts wished us well on our trip. If that isn't hospitality, I don't know what is. We will be staying again next weekend and I am looking forward to it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same direction and will be sunny first thing in the morning. Also, because this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wonderful and comfortable room. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Dated decor but very clean and fresh. Reminded me of road trips with parents 50 years ago. will definitely stay here again and recommend to friends. Convenient to golf courses, shopping and restaurants. acorn touches in room were a treat to discover.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Clean, clean, clean! We just had a wonderful stay at the Acorn Ridge! The rooms are spacious and as clean as can be. The beds were super comfortable and the sheets smelled just-out-of the- dryer-fresh. The owners are wonderful folks who made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. In fact, when our travel plans changed and our one night stay turned into a two night stay, they were incredibly accomodating. The location is great, right between Princeton, and Green Lake. The room was also a great value. I highly recommend this motel if your travel plans take you to the Green Lake area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

stayed here as part of a group, perfect location, very friendly owner and staff, rooms clean and comfortable, price was very good,room had fridge and coffee making facilities, eco friendly, did not change towels as requested.
convenient bar and resteraunt accross the road,
only prob was wi fi connection not good in some rooms
i would definately stay here again and will reccommend it to friends

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nekoosa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for a nice, clean place to stay I would certainly recommend Acorn Ridge Motel. The owners are a wonderful couple that keep the rooms looking their best. The style may be from a few years ago but there are no complaints from me. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Ridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Ridge Motel

Address: W3910 State Road 23 73, Princeton, WI 54968
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Princeton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Princeton
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Ridge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.