We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bluffview Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bluffview Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bluffview Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37268 US Highway 18, Highways 35 & 60 South, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-8426   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Prairie du Chien
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

We stayed here only one night during a Midwest driving trip, but I wish it had been longer. We have stayed in many places and this one was one of the best. The room was huge with a sitting area (sofa and two wing chairs) and was extremely clean and fresh. The hotel has many "themed" rooms (we saw pictures of them in the lobby) but this was just a basic room. It was the best "basic" room I've ever stayed in. The hotel also had a great indoor pool with a jacuzzi and gym. I think the occupancy was very low the night we were there because it felt as if we had the whole place to ourselves. There was a nice little pub attached but it wasn't open (probably due to low house count). If you are looking for a good restaurant, try the Angus House (just 3 blocks away) if you are in the mood for steaks. It was a throwback to the old steakhouses of the 1970's; a little dark and old fashioned, but the food was really good. Ask for the waitress named "Bunny". She was really nice! By the way, the hotel had an excellent full (hot) breakfast each morning in the lobby area. This property is flanked by several other smaller hotels and it seems as if they are all competing for business (by advertising large rooms, indoor pools, hot breakfast, etc). In this case it is the customer who wins because they are all trying to be the best. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Decor, cleanliness,
  • Disliked — Nothing really, except for the minor fact that the front desk agent (middle aged woman) wasn't especially friendly.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
16
37
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Channahon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

My family stayed at the Best Western Quiet House for two nights (a Sunday and Monday). It was quiet there during our stay.
Lobby: Somewhat small because it included the breakfast area.
Room: Clean but the bathroom was lacking counter space.
Pool: Very good. It had a basketball hoop and other pool toys for the kids to play with.
Breakfast: Good. It had several hot items including waffles, sausage, and eggs.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We didn't stay at this hotel - but we were charged for the room. Through a mixup with phone reservations, we made a reservation (we thought) at the Best Western Quiet House in Galena, Il and instead it ended up being here. When we got to Galena, there wasn't a reservation for us but they put us up in a suite that we had requested and all was well. When we got home, out charge statement showed a charge for $161 for 1 night at this hotel - we were charged for a "no show" - but we did show at the hotel that we thought we had booked at. This owner/manager said too bad. Best Western Corporate didn't help either. Said it's up to the Wisconsin hotel manager to credit you or not. She wouldn't budge. Said she was full that night and could have filled that room. (We all know that If in fact she was that busy, she most certainly did fill the room anyway.) Galena was able to give us the suite we wanted for 2 nights - I would think Galena is a busier spot than Priaire duChien, Wisconsin!
I would not suggest staying at this hotel simply because of bad management and a lack of customer care. Booking here would be "taking your chances".

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western Quiet House in Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin on February 21, 2006. What an awful place to stay if you're a non-smoker. There were no smokers to be found, but the smoke permeated throughout the hallways and lobby. It was so bad that my eyes and throat were burning.
I wanted to take my daughter in the whirlpool, but it was broken. They had drained the whirlpool, and the indoor pool was FREEZING! We didn't step in the pool past our kneecaps.
I didn't feel as safe in this hotel because there were not one, but two entry doors to the room. One led into the motel's smoky interior corridor, and the other led straight outside to the busy road.
Finally, the walls were so thin in this motel that we could hear the guest in the next room SNORING right through the walls. I was tempted to offer the person one of my husband's Breathe-right strips.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bluffview Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bluffview Inn & Suites

Address: 37268 US Highway 18, Highways 35 & 60 South, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-8426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Prairie du Chien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Prairie du Chien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bluffview Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bluffview Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prairie Du Chien
Prairie Du Chien Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bluffview Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.