We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Waitress/Not kid friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Huckleberry's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Huckleberry's Restaurant
1906 Marquette Road, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821
608-326-5488
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Fennimore, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rude Waitress/Not kid friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family was at Huckleberry's for a Wedding Reception and we had a horrible experience with a waitress that was extremely rude to my children. I would not consider this a Family Friendly reception location. They also seemed to be very unorganized - they stated that they were going to release the tables to go through the buffet line, however they totally forgot our table, as well as 2 other tables near our table. Needless to say, we did not stay long. I am feeling sorry for the Bride and Groom, I am hoping they were treated better then their guests.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    16
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cudahy WI
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Unexpected Delight While Waiting for Cabela's to Open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We weren't planning on breakfast out, here or anywhere but when we found Cabela's wasn't open for another hour we tried this place and were very happy we did.

It's a nice restaurant, adjacent to a fuel stop. Don't let that deter you. The restaurant was VERY busy with local plates on most of the cars. On a Sunday morning ( when we visited ) you have your choice to order off the menu in the dining room or go for the Sunday Brunch Buffet in the banquet room. The clientele were split about 50/50 -- we went for the buffet.

Reasonable price for the fare, and significant senior citizen discount.

We tried the buffet and all the items were better than expected including the fresh fruit which was nicely ripe. Several dinner items including shaved prime rib, BBQ ribs, Fried Chicken , and Fried Chicken with BBQ sauce on it. Also normal brunch breakfast items. I would go back in an instant. Tasty, value for your $$, friendly staff, very good hygiene...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Closest restaurant to our motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The servers were very nice, and the food was OK. We ate here because we could walk to it from our motel next door.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet on Sunday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We did a large family get together for the Sunday Brunch. The dishes were hot and the price was reasonable. The selection was good and the food quality was average. There was a decent variety of both breakfast and lunch items in addition to some sweets and fresh fruit. The quick service and ability to handle the large group is what sets this place apart. We return each time we have our family reunion. It isn't fancy but it fits the need.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

It was reviewed by the hotel we were staying at and was pretty family friendly. The food was a good value and the portions were very good sized too. The waitress was very prompt and we never really needed to look or wait for her. All in all it was a pretty good time and experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huckleberry's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Huckleberry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huckleberry's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.