We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry. Won't go back if we can help it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Huckleberry's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Huckleberry's Restaurant
1906 Marquette Road, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821
608-326-5488
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Cedar Rapids, IA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Sorry. Won't go back if we can help it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Problem is... every time we travel to PdC and meet other people from out-of-town, they invariably ask to meet a Huckleberry's.

The place is a truck stop, gift shop, and on Sunday's they have a buffet. There's a huge dining area which apparently doubles as a dance hall, reception area for local weddings or Country Western square dances (or, whatever those Country on The River lemmings do for fun). Personally, I'd rather go to Golden Corral.

The food always makes us sick. It's invariably overcooked and grease infused. There's no service since it's only a buffet when we've patronized. And when there *has* been anything edible on the buffet, the kitchen apparently cannot refill the troth until the other scary dishes are emptied.

On the good side, the gas station part *does* include an E85 pump.


Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    16
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food for Thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Huckleberry's is a small restaurant and could use some updating. It offers a good menu with general American type foods and a small soup and salad bar.

It was clean but not well laid out as far as dining is concerned. The food was good. We choose this as we were tired and just needed something to eat and drink.

Service was OK. Not our best recommendation. Would do for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fennimore, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and the price is right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great service. Great food. Prices great. I use to live in Germany and loved a certain meat there, boy Huckeberrys had one just like and just as good.;

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food; Good Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Nice friendly atmosphere with efficient and pleasant waitstaff. Food arrived quickly, hot and tasty. Very nice salad bar and the $1.50 pie special can't be beat!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Two meals in two days- well served, tasty food, attentive staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Clean, good menu, fast service. Breakfast is served all day and that is always a plus for us.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huckleberry's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Huckleberry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huckleberry's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.