We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn Restaurant

The Barn Restaurant
32800 County Road K, Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-8002
608.326.4941
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

While in Prairie Du Chien WI, we had plans of going back to the Black Angus Restaurant, but while at Shihata Apple Orchard a lady who worked there told us about The Barn. We decided to give it a try that Saturday evening. We were not disappointed at all. They were very busy, but service was excellent. One person in our party ordered the Rib Eye steak, I ordered the Filet Medallions. Both were excellent choices. The rice pilaf was just so so, they had a salad bar with two choices of soup, and a good number of salad choices.
We were very happy with our choice of The Barn for dinner and would go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate here on a busy Friday night. Without a reservation we waited ~30 minutes for a table. The restaurant is quite large with a varied menu. We had a pizza which was very good. The restaurant staff seemed a bit overworked but the service was friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberling City, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had twenty six in our group eating here, yet they had no problem serving us with a smile. Food was good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Da Barn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Been a few years since been here. Have great medallion steaks special. Spaghetti was nothing to write about. It is interesting all the things the owner has done around this area. Camping, golf, river trailers, bars, etc. I'd come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“SUPER Food & Atmosphere !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We LOVE the Friday "beer-battered" FISH fry. However, anything ordered off menu is delicious!
I think the cooks are top quality and deserve high marks. (We've returned often.) Always Friendly service! The brunch has a ton of selections. And if you'd like a wedding reception or group gathering this is the ONLY place that knows how to do it, with plenty of room for guests. They know how to make a beautiful presentation and how to serve. It's is a hidden secret how good this place really is! Well-worth a visit for any occasion.
TIP: Mother's Day or Father's Day--you better make reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Barn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.