We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A M A Z I N G !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathay Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cathay Garden
238 W Cook St, Portage, WI 53901-2106
608-742-6453
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 44 Restaurants in Portage
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A M A Z I N G !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hands down the best chinese outside of china town! It was a great dine in experience staff SOOOOOO nice, and the place is authentic and mmuch better than other chinese places I.ve been to.

I have had chinese everywhere. By far the service, portions, flavors, and prices are
A MA Z I N G!!!! If you are in Portage don't eat anywhere else! I cant say enough good things about this place, for sure a Happy Accident we stopped in while passing through! We had the Happy Family and Tso's Chicken.

I feel bad though this place was super clean many people were in and out for take out and never tipped the most amazing and friendly waiter. I felt bad so we left a hefty tip, this guy has to eat too...jeez, I hate when people dont leave a little something even if it is just take out :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Very low cost, high volume place. If you order before 2:30 pm, you get the lunch price, even off the dinner menu, hey lunch portions,, I order fragrant shrimp, hot sour soup, egg roll, comes with fried rice..... $5.50. The place isn't much to look at. They just got new carpet so it looks better. Great deal!! Closed Sundays

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fast and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

fast service, hot chinese food. perfect for takeout too. daytime lunches, full meal for 5$ includes soup and eggroll with your main dish. Very filling.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here & also carried out many times. They must have new owners because the last time we went the food was awful. Our waiter did a food job although. We are sad that we will never return because it used to be good.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Asain Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Food is good, atmospher not much. Best to carry out.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathay Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cathay Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathay Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.