We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Pizza

Tamarack Pizza
412 E Wisconsin St, Portage, WI 53901-2451
608-742-6424
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Portage
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Portage,WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place for Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We like their burgers, although we have found a place that has better ones recently. These guys still come in second for their burgers...a good pick. It is a small place. Sometimes people are seated rear to rear. ....Friendly waitstaff. Parking can be full at times...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food every time at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Can't go wrong with the pizza, lots of cheese. Best burgers around and the steak sandwich is excellent. It isn't fine dining to be sure, but for a friendly small town meal with bar service, you can't do better. They ground their beef fresh daily and grill burgers on griddle. Best with grilled mushrooms, onions, and swiss. Not the most healthy fare though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lasagna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This small place has great lasagna, burgers and chili. The subs are great, especially the Tamarack special. I don't eat processed lunch meats, but I tried thousands it was incredible. The atmosphere is friendly.however the place is a total dive, and the owner is cheap. he won't respond to area charities when they contact him for fundraisers. However, the food is good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is your typical small town bar/restaurant. Nothing fancy, very small, but AWESOME food. We personally love the Steak Sandwich, Reuben and Tamarack Special. Have not ever tried the pizza because we love the sandwiches so much we always order them. The service can be slow if it is packed but if you are sitting back and having a drink and not in a hurry it isn't that bad. If you are looking for "fast" food then go to McDonalds.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best burgers in the Portage area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you are looking for greasy bar burgers, this is the place for you. It's not much for atmosphere, it's kind of dark and dingy, but the burgers are excellent. They run specials on Saturday for $2 Bloody Marys and screwdrivers. Honestly, we have never tried their pizza, so I couldn't tell you how that is.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarack Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Tamarack Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.