We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Portage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Portage to your Saves list
Super 8 Portage
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3000 New Pinery Rd, I-90/94 Exit Hwy 78 to Hwy 5, Portage, WI 53901-9200   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% + bonus points!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Milwaukee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was OK.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was disappointed that they didn't have a pool or hot tub. After working all day that would have been a great thing to do!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Kevin H.,

I want to thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed most of your visit, but I apologize that we were not able to provide a pool or hot tub. I am sure it would have been a great way to relax after a long day at work.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future. :)

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    60
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
40
20
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

On entry to our room, 2 unregistered dogs in the unoccupied room across from us began barking continuously. The desk clerk relocated us down the hall but I felt sorry for others in that area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Mark W.,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. We sincerely appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, as this helps us determine what we are doing "right" as well as what areas we can improve on.

I sincerely apologize for the disturbance that you experienced with the dogs in a nearby room. Unfortunately dogs are occasionally left unattended, and in this case, we were not given a contact number for their owners. I'm pleased that our staff was able to move your room, so that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future, so that you may experience a clean and quiet stay. :)

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As for the other drivers out there, Super 8 Portage has dedicated truck parking on the back side of the building. You can quickly walk to the gas station, Wal Mart and a few restaurants. The price is always fair and the rooms are average for a Super 8. I always enjoy chatting with the other drivers, rail crews and workers over breakfast as this hotel serves mostly industrial and commercial guests such as myself. I have stayed here many times, never with a complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear NighthawkBender,

First of all, thank you for your valued business! I am pleased to see that you continue to find our hotel a great value for your travel needs. Our staff works hard to keep the rooms as spotless as possible, and we take pride in providing exceptionally friendly service.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. :)

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very friendly staff. Very clean rooms. Quiet. Well managed hotel. The restuarant next door was excellent. Had a little difficulty finding from I-94/90. Best stay this year and the 15 mi. drive to the Dells was worth it. Highly reccommend if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Bruce B,

Thank you so much for the exceptional review about your recent stay with us! We are thrilled that you found the Portage Super 8 to be well managed, clean and friendly. That is the goal we strive for every day. I will be sure to share your positive comments with our team and commend them for a job well done. :)

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were attending a family reunion and had to make our plans late. We found out that this was the busiest weekend in the Dells and all the rooms at the host hotel were booked. We checked and found this motel close and we are very happy we stayed there. It was clean, quiet and very comfortable. We enjoyed all the activities and were able to slip away for a quiet and relaxing night's sleep.

Room Tip: We choose a ground floor room - easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth W, General Manager at Super 8 Portage, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ProfessorHolland,

I’m pleased that you were able to find accommodations at the Portage Super 8 during your recent reunion trip. Our staff works hard to keep the hotel sparkling clean, so I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed a quiet and comfortable stay, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Woyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portage

Address: 3000 New Pinery Rd, I-90/94 Exit Hwy 78 to Hwy 5, Portage, WI 53901-9200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Portage Hotel Portage
Super Eight Portage
Portage Super Eight
Portage Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Portage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.