We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for family value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Portage

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Portage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Portage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N 5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Burlington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel for family value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Free breakfast in the morning! Free Waterpark passes to Mt. Olympus and Chula Vista ( for each member in your room)! Pleasant customer service at front desk! So if you are looking for a GREAT DEAL for a family fun trip to the dells and dont mind if your hotel is fit for royalty then this is your hotel. We absolutely got a great deal and also had a great night sleep. The pool is very small and outdated but we didnt use it so it did not matter. Hotel is outdated yes, however, it is kept very clean and actually better than a crowne plaza that we stayed at a few days later. This is your VALUE hotel that we loved and will be sure to return every year we go to the dells. thanks so much!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are handicap this hotel does not have an elevator. 701 on the second floor is outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are SO happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We also appreciate the great review we received. We really do strive to be the best value in the area. We are glad that you found our staff to be pleasant as well. We hope to see you again soon!
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    45
    34
    26
See reviews for
91
36
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Terrible smell in the rooms! Dirty floor. The whole night we have been hearing a persistent electronic noise coming through the walls & ceiling. I suspect it was caused by the "Welcome to Days Inn" electronic board located outside. The conditioner is very old,
probably from 60-s or 70-s. Overall, one of the worst hotels in my life.

Room Tip: Reserve a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbydale, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great value for price, easy to arrive and depart from. Very nice for the trucking crowd. Great truck parking but must arrive early it goses fast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. I am also glad that you were able to secure a parking spot. We try very hard to accommodate our truckers and their vehicles and we work with Petro next door when parking becomes limited. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Have stayed here before ,The pool & spa are clean and the rooms are comfortable Decent size and tub/stool are separated from sink location. Fridge,microwave and safe,ample outlets.. .Area is quiet,No big restaurants nearby but Iron Skillet in the great travel plaza next door looked good.And there was a Subway & Dairy Queen also. Pizza delivery available if after driving all day you just want to chill out. which is what we chose. Easy access on & off freeway.Desk clerk very friendly.,. will stay again if needing a room in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our property. We are always happy to hear from our returning guests. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. We hope you will come back and take advantage of our Wisconsin Dells packages this summer.
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were here for a one night stay as we traveled through with a basketball team. The room was a great size for our family of 5 (2 teenagers and a 5 year old). We always take the mattress off of hide a beds and put it on the floor--more comfortable than feeling the bars in your back all night.

The one down side was being able to hear the trucks all night long from the truckstop next door. If you can get a room on the other side, I would advise it.

They have 2 waffle makers, which is helpful when there are a bunch of people trying to make breakfast at the same time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the truck stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our property. I am glad that you found our rooms to be spacious and adequately accomodate your family. I am also glad that you were able to take advantage of our hot breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Address: N 5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on business or bring the family to our Days Inn Portage hotel. Halfway between Madison and Wisconsin Dells with access to Interstate 90 / 94 and I-39, our Portage, WI, hotel near Cascade Mountain makes your stay in central Wisconsin a breeze. Keep fit in the indoor pool, wind down in the whirlpool and get comfortable in your room featuring free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with microwaves and refrigerators, coffee makers,hair dryers,and cable TV Parking for your truck, bus or RV is free, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly Portage, WI, hotel. Start each day with free Daybreak breakfast, featuring make your own waffles eggs and sausage, all rooms come with free tickets to Chula Vista AND Mt. Olympus Waterparks(based on registered guests limit of 5). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Portage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.