We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Portage

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Portage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Portage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N 5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Portage
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    40
    33
    25
See reviews for
85
34
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

For a Days Inn, this is above average. Wish I could give it 3 1/2 stars. For being in the middle of nowhere, it was a great inexpensive stay. A nice clean room for $72.00, is a deal. Very quiet for being semi - near the highway. It is a little older and worn, but worth it. This is no elevator, which maybe a problem for some visitors. No HD flat screen or iron. Service was warm and friendly.
I was weary when I checked in, so the convenient Iron Skillet next door was great. For being a larger truck stop, I did not notice any truck noisy. This is an inexpensive safe bet.

Room Tip: Go for rear of hotel and second floor. Remember, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. Yes, our building is older and we do not have an elevator, however we will be putting in new hallway carpeting, and flat screen TV's in all of our rooms in the next few months. There are not irons in the rooms, but they are available from the front desk 24 hours. A large number of our guests, like you appreciate that the Iron Skillet restaurant is right next door and open 24 hours. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to having you as our guest again when you are in the area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rechlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with friends over the weekend to ski at Cascade Mountain. It was the closest hotel to the skiing area. We were allowed to check in early at 11am, and the staff gave us directions to the lodge and to find food. The rooms were relatively clean and a little small. But you get what you pay for. The pool was amazing though.....very clean and warm and with a hot tub.

The free (included) breakfast was typical with the waffle maker, fresh fruit, and pretty good coffee. There were a LOT of kids staying there, so be prepared to share the pool and the hallway with noisy kids. Also, kids were running around late at night screaming and being crazy, but it calmed down around 10:30pm.

I would recommend this location for the wonderful staff, the location, and the price (I paid 69.99/night).

Room Tip: If you have a lot of stuff, it's easier to have a room on the ground floor so you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Days Inn Portage. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you shared that with fellow travelers. We look forward to serving your lodging needs the next time you are in the Portage area!
Yours in Hospitality,
Days Inn Portage Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

during our stay we had asked one of the housekeepers for towels we didn't want our room serviced the housekeeper said " I don't have any towels right now" what kind of hotel doesnt enough towels at 9:30 in the morning? the eggs smelt funny as well as tasted n felt like rubber. we heard hkprs laughing very loud and cussing. I heard one boy say "who cars if your not supposed to put a lid on the bowl if the food is hot I don't eat this [-]!"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us was unpleasant. I have talked with housekeeping regarding their conduct, and appropriate actions have been taken to make sure that the unprofessional behavior does not happen again. After speaking with housekeeping about the towel issue, I believe there may have been a misunderstanding. The housekeeper meant that they did not have any towels on their cart at the moment when you asked for them, but they should have went and got you some right away from the laundry room. My sincerest apologies if this was not the case. As for the boy talking about food in a bowl, I'm not sure where this came from, but we do not have any males on our staff that deal with our breakfast food. I'm sorry to that you didn't care for the scrambled eggs. After negative feedback about our previous brand of scrambled eggs, we switched to a different kind, and we have gotten a lot of positive feedback on the ones that we use now. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rechlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDSON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Rooms were noisy. Could hear neighbors taking a shower and having a conversation. Room was not overly clean. One of the pillow cases had dried blood on it. Shower was plumbed backwards - Turning the dial to Cold made it Hot and vice versa. Also temperature regulation was non-existence. During the shower, the water temp would get very hot on its own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Days Inn Portage. We apologize that your stay was anything less than pleasant and apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. We strive to provide an excellent guest experience for each and every one of our guests, but we fell short of that goal with you during your stay. Again, we apologize and hope to see you during your future travels to the Portage area.
Yours in Hospitality,
Days Inn Portage Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Address: N 5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on business or bring the family to our Days Inn Portage hotel. Halfway between Madison and Wisconsin Dells with access to Interstate 90 / 94 and I-39, our Portage, WI, hotel near Cascade Mountain makes your stay in central Wisconsin a breeze. Keep fit in the indoor pool, wind down in the whirlpool and get comfortable in your room featuring free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with microwaves and refrigerators, coffee makers,hair dryers,and cable TV Parking for your truck, bus or RV is free, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly Portage, WI, hotel. Start each day with free Daybreak breakfast, featuring make your own waffles eggs and sausage, all rooms come with free tickets to Chula Vista AND Mt. Olympus Waterparks(based on registered guests limit of 5). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Portage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.