We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unprofessional and ghetto” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Portage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Portage to your Saves list
Days Inn Portage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N 5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Ski
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Very unprofessional and ghetto”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

during our stay we had asked one of the housekeepers for towels we didn't want our room serviced the housekeeper said " I don't have any towels right now" what kind of hotel doesnt enough towels at 9:30 in the morning? the eggs smelt funny as well as tasted n felt like rubber. we heard hkprs laughing very loud and cussing. I heard one boy say "who cars if your not supposed to put a lid on the bowl if the food is hot I don't eat this [-]!"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us was unpleasant. I have talked with housekeeping regarding their conduct, and appropriate actions have been taken to make sure that the unprofessional behavior does not happen again. After speaking with housekeeping about the towel issue, I believe there may have been a misunderstanding. The housekeeper meant that they did not have any towels on their cart at the moment when you asked for them, but they should have went and got you some right away from the laundry room. My sincerest apologies if this was not the case. As for the boy talking about food in a bowl, I'm not sure where this came from, but we do not have any males on our staff that deal with our breakfast food. I'm sorry to that you didn't care for the scrambled eggs. After negative feedback about our previous brand of scrambled eggs, we switched to a different kind, and we have gotten a lot of positive feedback on the ones that we use now. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rechlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    51
    47
    35
    27
See reviews for
94
38
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HUDSON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Rooms were noisy. Could hear neighbors taking a shower and having a conversation. Room was not overly clean. One of the pillow cases had dried blood on it. Shower was plumbed backwards - Turning the dial to Cold made it Hot and vice versa. Also temperature regulation was non-existence. During the shower, the water temp would get very hot on its own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Days Inn Portage. We apologize that your stay was anything less than pleasant and apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. We strive to provide an excellent guest experience for each and every one of our guests, but we fell short of that goal with you during your stay. Again, we apologize and hope to see you during your future travels to the Portage area.
Yours in Hospitality,
Days Inn Portage Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times w/wife and 4 kids (in a different room we also had 3 other adults in the party. It was their first time and they loved it.) and the service has been perfect every time. The facility is not top of the line and no they do not have an elevator, but it is only 2 floors and the handicapped rooms are on the first floor. The breakfast is great. If you are not too impressed, you can always go to the Iron Skillet about 100 feet away. They have great food as well. Can't wait to stay just for the Iron Skillet.

There are so many reasons to stay at this hotel.
-Free Breakfast
-Free Chula Vista tickets
-Rooms that have up to 3 beds w/microwave and fridge for an average of $80 (usually)
-Free Parking
-A nice pool area w/hot tub (no, not spectacular, but always quiet and the kids will love it. Besides one of the main reasons for staying are the free Chula Vista tickets. (Chula Vista 15-20 minutes away, all Interstate 'til Baraboo). That is the pool that you will love.
-In winter you can get free Cascade Mountain lift tickets besides the Chula Vista tickets.
-In summer they usually have a 40% off General Admission for Noah's Ark, plus the included Chula Vista tickets.
-Dairy Queen, Subway, Iron Skillet, and gas station are right there. Walk to every one of them.

I don't know what the complainers were expecting at this hotel when they signed up. Most hotel search websites give it between a 1 and 2 star rating. It is that, but only based on size. They accommodate on EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: Every time I have stayed the room I was in was perfect. It is a great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experiences at the Days Inn Portage. We are pleased that you have stayed with us on several different occasions and that you have had a great experience each time! We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Charleston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lake
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at Days Inn early January because the deal was awesome! Where else can you get waterpark and lift tickets with stay and only spend $150!?!? The staff was very helpful and the room was clean and quiet. Plus it included free breakfast which was wonderful. It wasn't the lame muffins and doughnut with coffee breakfast. There was waffles and eggs and sausage. YUM!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn5066, Manager at Days Inn Portage, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Days Inn Portage. We enjoy being able to offer our guests great deals for great rates. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the breakfast. Since your stay we have added different items to the breakfast. We hope to see you the next time you are in the Portage area!
Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Charleston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Address: N 5781 Kinney Road, Portage, WI 53901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on business or bring the family to our Days Inn Portage hotel. Halfway between Madison and Wisconsin Dells with access to Interstate 90 / 94 and I-39, our Portage, WI, hotel near Cascade Mountain makes your stay in central Wisconsin a breeze. Keep fit in the indoor pool, wind down in the whirlpool and get comfortable in your room featuring free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with microwaves and refrigerators, coffee makers,hair dryers,and cable TV Parking for your truck, bus or RV is free, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly Portage, WI, hotel. Start each day with free Daybreak breakfast, featuring make your own waffles eggs and sausage, all rooms come with free tickets to Chula Vista AND Mt. Olympus Waterparks(based on registered guests limit of 5). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Portage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.