We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have been at for weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Washington Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Washington Inn
308 W. Washington Street, Port Washington, WI 53074   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
West Allis, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to have been at for weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is hard to add to the great sentiments already given by so many an inn stayer. So I hardily echo them all! Very nice breakfast, owners are quite hospitable though we only got to meet Dave, rooms are very nice and comfortable. Everything about this place is what you would hope to get from a B&B - you could get used to having breakfast served up like this. The atmosphere of this house is great too! I would have liked the cost to be a little less looking at other B&Bs, but I don't feel ripped off.

Room Tip: We had the Top of the World suite and it was nice. Barking neighbor dog on north side, but didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palatine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the delicious, plentiful breakfast to the cozy provided robes, the Port Washington Inn is a great weekend getaway. Plan on finding things to do in nearby Cedarburg or otherwise nearby towns unless it's the summer time.

Room Tip: Look for a room with the Kohler WaterHaven showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. The owners, Dave and Rita, are sociable without being overly so. They were very accommodating The homemade breakfast pastries were the hot egg dishes. The bacon and sausage from the local meat vendor were very good. Nice lake view from the upstairs suite. Good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Port Washington Inn for a quick trip out of town this past weekend. The Inn is beautiful, nicely restored, and full of old world charm. Dave and Rita, the owners, are both wonderful people, attentive, and helpful in recommending nearby activities, places to visit, etc. Breakfast, which is different every day, is amazing, from the freshly cooked eggs, different meats, home-made yogurt, etc.

If you are looking for a wonderful B&B, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Port Washington Inn is by far the best Bed & Breakfast that we've stayed in. The facility is immaculate, room very comfortable, food was amazing, and the hosts were attentive to our every need. They were extremely helpful in guiding us to restaurants, shopping, etc., in the area. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the Milwaukee area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk. Scotland.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are going to Port Washington, I would recomend the Port Washington Inn. Its a 10 minute stroll down hill to the main street and water,
We enjoyed a quiet stop here for 3 nights after a hetic few days in Chicago, Port Washington is just a couple of hours north from Chicago airport (o'hare).

The hotel has old world charm, the rooms that we saw were all well decorated with period furnishings.
The owners Dave and Rita will give you a warm welcome, Rita serves a breakfast that is worth going their for alone.

If we ever get back to this area we would hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room as this is a small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the PWInn last weekend to celebrate my birthday. Their home is beautiful. Our room was ready when we arrived and we found a plate of brownies waiting in the room. After exploring PW and Cedarburg, we had a glass of wine in the parlor. Breakfasts were very good and made with care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Washington Inn

Address: 308 W. Washington Street, Port Washington, WI 53074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Washington Inn is a five room bed and breakfast in the truest sense of the term. The inn was built in 1903 as the private home of George and Eva Blessing. The original character of the home has been preserved during the extensive restoration to provide the Serenity, Elegance, & Comfort for which the inn is known. Beginning our eighteenth season in 2013, we are especially honored that Port Washington Inn was included in the "Around the Corner with John McGivern Show" featuring Port Washington. The inn is also featured on the cover of the 2012 Wisconsin Bed and Breakfast Association Cookbook. Excellent early morning coffee and a full breakfast prepared from scratch and served buffet style in our formal dining room get our guests' day off to a great start, and complimentary beverage centers, homemade treats, and generous common areas inside and outside all receive high marks with our guests. All guestrooms have queen beds, attached private baths, comfortable seating and good reading lights. Guests delight in our attention to all the details which means everything is in readiness for them to enjoy their time together. We invite you to experience the peaceful privacy and generous hospitality which bring guests back again and again. Complimentary WIFI and good mobile phone reception keep guests connected during their getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Port Washington Inn to your Saves list