We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Port Washington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Port Washington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Rockford, IL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The location was excellent, in the heart of a very quaint picturesque city, and also at the harbor on Lake Michigan. It was beautiful and very convenient. The room itself was nice, but not above average, the elevators were awful, and the restuarant was nothing special.. I would recommend this hotel, just based on the location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    47
    14
    5
See reviews for
47
45
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this Holiday Inn before and decided to come back for a few days to explore Port Washington. Great views of the lake from our room which was very comfortable. The breakfast at the hotel was okay, but nothing exciting. We are used to the breakfasts at the Holiday Inn Express being included in the price of the room. Very convenient location, right by the lake and harbor area. Ate at two restaurants within a block walking distance of hotel and the Farmers Market was right across the street from the hotel the day we checked in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is an older property in a great location that needs some attention to detail. I normally stay in downtown Milwaukee when visiting on business in Grafton WI but with Summerfest on rooms were hard to find and more expensive than normal so I decided to try out this hotel.

Overall it worked OK, I had a room with a view of the harbor, the room was comfortable and clean. That was the good part. The lifts are old and need to be upgraded, the internal corridors are dark and need to be refurbed. The Restaurant is a real problem, during the week breakfast was passable but on the weekend it was pathetic, the menu was off the menu and what passed for a buffet was a joke. the attitude was they they were doing me a favor be letting me eat there. There are better places in town to eat and I made a mistake by not leaving and having breakfast at Harry's up the road.

I has no problem with noise but can see how it could easily be a problem. If this hotel is owner operated then the owner should sell up and get out of the hotel business. if it is managed then the owner needs a new manager. This location has a lot of unrealized potential.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room on 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I went to Summerfest in Milwaukee and stayed overnight at the Holiday Inn in Port Washington before heading home the next day. Instead of a relaxing get away, I am completely sleep deprived! Our room was room 213 off the lobby and street. I could have dealt with the noise of the street, but loud guests were having fun in the lobby living room area all night long! When I couldn't deal with it any longer, I called the front desk at 3:00 a.m. and didn't hear it quiet down until 4:15 a.m. I'm not at all sure why they don't have rules about this when rooms are so close by. I literally slept from 4:30 a.m. - 7:30 a.m. ..... a total of 3 hours before driving home. I would NOT recommend this place unless you are desperate! I paid too much money for no sleep. I only wish we would have driven home instead of staying there! Carol and Tim

Room Tip: If you want a noisy hotel, this one is right for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear McGuires_12,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for the noise during your stay with us. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Washington hotels

illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

As my friend & I walked into our room at Port Washington Holiday Inn,we seen a piece of pizza crust right next to the wall and unvacuumed carpet. Mattresses in need of updating, but at least clean sheets. Pool & hot tub in basement, where a bunch of men sat drinking alcohol & jumping in the pool. Hotel is very dark with zig zag hallways. Never ate in hotel restaurant because we heard the food was terrible. One plus is the park that is connected to the parking lot, great views of Lake Michigan. Nice town & nice views of Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It’s nice to know that you found our location convenient. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments will certainly be looked into. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

It started out as a simple father-son fishing trip, that turned into a great father-son fishing trip. Not because of the fishing, but because of the hospitality and quality of the rooms at the Holiday Inn in Port Washington. I've been lucky enough to stay at hotels all over the nation, and the quality of this hotel surpassed my expectations. Rooms were very clean and the restaurant exceed my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here one night, May 23, 2012. Desk clerks were helpful. Room was clean and nice and a good view up the street to the cathedral. Convenient to several restaurants and located right in town. No problems.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Address: 135 East Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.