We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, no elevator” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville to your Saves list
Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville
630 South Water Street, Platteville, WI 53818   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Platteville
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good quality, no elevator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was on crutches at the time and having to get to the second floor was a challenge with no elevator. Pool area looked nice, close to downtown, within walking distance of several restaurants and a couple bars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMalliet, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. On behalf on the entire staff we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Terry Malliet
General Manager
Country Inn
Platteville, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
7
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have stayed here a few times when I come to town for work, overall it's a solid hotel. Great walking location for almost everything. Cleaner than the motel across the street, pretty good breakfast although a little sketchy with the glass dishes, I guess it's eco friendly just not used to that...Everyone is pretty friendly but rates are pretty high for Platteville.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed at the Country Inn & Suites while visiting UW Platteville. Very good location for visiting the college - the college is only about 1 mile from the hotel. We enjoyed the pool and the room was clean and quiet. Would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Platteville.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMalliet, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of the entire staff we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Terry Malliet
General Manager
Country Inn
Platteville, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed for one evening during the week for a college visit. We arrived during the middle of a snowstorm and were greeted upon arrival by a nice young man. Our room was ready and we were checked in in a flash. He confirmed our bedding and asked if being upstairs was acceptable. We easily found our room and were surprised by the size and great shape it was in. (We spend a LOT of hotel nights in small towns, so have come to expect anything and everything.) Everything was nice and clean and the room had no "odd" odors or staleness. We found the room to be super quiet but the hotel wasn't very full either. While we didn't get a chance to use the pool or hot tub, the area looked very nice. I also saw maintenance checking the water quality early the next day. I would have to agree that breakfast was sort of disappointing. But, it was free so again didn't expect a lot. If you want a full breakfast, plan on visiting a restaurant and paying for it. I will say that EVERY staff person we met was very friendly. Always a hello and they seemed more than willing to help. I look forward to staying at this property again when we are in town. Great job Country Inn Platteville!

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, ask for a room facing away from the street upstairs - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This country inn was not as good as the others in the chain. Has no elevator, the computer in the front is not business friendly, will not take a thumb drive. Found this motel overpriced.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband took me on a weekend getaway to celebrate my birthday. We stayed at this hotel on a Friday and Saturday night. We got to the hotel aroud 8PM on Friday, the girl at the front desk was nice and checked us in quickly. Our room was clean and the fridge was nice to have to store some sodas and leftovers.

The bed was ok, not the most comfortable and the sheets were very thin and pilly. I do have to say that as far as noise goes, we never heard a peep from outside our room. The bathroom was clean but a bit run down. The towels were very nice and the shower was hot and had a good forceful stream, not a mere trickle.

The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment. Not much variety and no one was re-stocking anything. The elderly lady that was in the breakfast room on Saturday morning was crabby and kept yelling at people. On Sunday morning I asked for some brown sugar for my oatmeal, and the guy said he'd get some. He never looked in the cabinets and came and told me they were out, I looked in the cabinet directly below the oatmeal and found a bunch of brown sugar packets, which I helped myself to. This was just pure laziness on this guys part. The juice was watered down and the bacon was crumbles (I still can't figure out what you were supposed to do with it because the only other hot things were french toast and waffles).

Overall, our stay was ok. I feel the price was too much based on the service.
We never went in the pool, but did use the hottub and it was nice. The pool area was pretty clean. There were no towels in the pool area upon entering, so I asked the guy at the front desk before we got in the hottub for some towels, he never did bring any and we were in there for over 45 minutes. We had to walk back to our room sopping wet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as we were on motorycles and wanted a place with a pool. They only has Suites left and they were way over priced. They did reduce the room by 50 dollars but it was not worth it. The beds were uncomfortable, the pool was cold and breakfast the next morning was not frequently stocked. On the way out of town the next day we found a different hotel in Belmont that we will look into next time. Although it may not be close to much it is probably better priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMalliet, Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for the comments. We strive to make every guest stay excellent and in this case we did not meet your or our expectations. We would like another chance when you are in the area. Please give me a call directly and we will make this right for you. Thank you again for sharing feedback regarding your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville

Address: 630 South Water Street, Platteville, WI 53818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Platteville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Platteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Platteville
Platteville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.