We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay Just what I needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Phillips

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Phillips to your Saves list
Super 8 Phillips
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   726 South Lake Ave, Hwy 13 S & County Rd D, Phillips, WI 54555   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phillips
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
“Wonderful stay Just what I needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had a great stay. Booked a queen size room with a recliner chair. I was pleasently suprised of the flat screen TV. Free coffee in the room was a plus since I'm a early riser. Breakfast was just enough and I like the addition of the cinnamon rolls. I was able to ride my snowmobile all the way to the mote. Loved it. The staff was very friendly and the place was extremely cleaned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amita P, Manager at Super 8 Phillips, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time out give us input on your stay.

It is great to know you had enjoyed your stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
14
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, WI
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

In general, the room was fine but nothing special. However, we were kept up all night by the squeaking and rattling from the heater. The heat turned on frequently and woke us every time. It was loud! Others at breakfast complained of the same problem in their rooms too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amita P, Manager at Super 8 Phillips, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Our motel is located in the Wisconsin Northwoods which is notorious for extreme temperature changes. In the winter the temperature can drop down to negative 35 degrees Fahrenheit at night time. Each of our rooms is equipped with individual AC/Heating units by Freidrich, Amana, or LG which are made specifically for hotel rooms. The problem lies, as according to the manufacturers of these units, it that they were not designed specifically to perform optimally at extreme temperatures. Just like your automobile, your car also does not perform optimally at sub zero temperatures. Right now it is negative 15 degrees outside as I'm responding to your review. To add to the complexity of the issue, is that some of our units contain rubber components like belts which we have to replace often because the freezing point of rubber is about -25 degrees Fahrenheit. The closer the temperatures comes to that point some components become more rigid causing the unit to be louder than normally would at more reasonable temperatures. I'm writing this to let all readers know that please consider other factors that would cause the heater to be noisy at the time of the year. We have put in the majority of our rooms, newer Heating units but they still become more vocal when it is negative degrees outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This motel hasn't been updated for a very long time. Everything needs replacing. I had a guaranteed reservation and upon check in my room was about 50 degrees and it took hours for it to heat up. The wall heater was very loud and ran constantly as the temperature outside was below zero and the facility was obviously not very well insulated. The window had a very noticable draft coming from it. This place is a good candidate for 'Hotel Impossible' including wore out mattress, old carpeting, ripped lamp shades and floral bedspreads. The continental breakfast consisted of stale pastries, pieces of cut up coffee cake, juice, cereal and a waffle machine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amita P, Manager at Super 8 Phillips, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We understand that each guest has different expectations and experiences at motels that they stay.

Our response to reviews on TripAdvisor is that they are individual and highly subjective and based on expecations. We cannot validate any photos posted from outside sources and verify whether this came from the motel you stayed.

Some of your responses indicated things beyond our immediate control.

2 year old LG Hitlton approved Heating unit working hard to make negative 15 degree temperature a toasting 80 degress inside the room with the possibility that the window was not securely closed.
More insulation in the walls, without tearing down all the walls in the motel, or rebuilding the facility, this probably will not happen in the near future.
We are on a rotating cycle for upgrades, and in order to allow the same experience for each guest, we do have to consider the timing for the upgrades such as carpet changes. For major renovations, we have to schedule during less busy times and right now we are in the heart of snowmobiling season. We hope that you try us again to see our upgrades in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Phillips

Address: 726 South Lake Ave, Hwy 13 S & County Rd D, Phillips, WI 54555
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Phillips
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phillips
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Phillips 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Phillips is a 32 unit motel in the northwoods of Wisconsin. Nearby are national forests, lakes for fishing, and ATV and snowmobile trails. And numerous festivals take place in the summertime. We are a 100% non smoking facility. We welcome pets in designated pet rooms for a nominal fee and with permission. Refrigerators are available upon request and based on availability.We are proud to announce that in August 2012, we will be adding fruit, yogurt, and cinnamon rolls to our free complimentary breakfast thanks to your customer reviews. In the near future, many of our rooms will be undergoing new upgraded amenities and a new fresh look, so come check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Phillips
Phillips Super 8
Phillips Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Phillips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.