We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Pewaukee's Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butler Inn of Pewaukee

Butler Inn of Pewaukee
742 Glacier Rd, Pewaukee, WI 53072-2318
262-691-0840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Pewaukee
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of Pewaukee's Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have been enjoying the Butler Inn since it first opened. It is one of the best places to eat in the Pewaukee area. If you like BBQ Ribs (Sat. Special) or Prime Rib (Sun. Special) you will not find anything better than the Butler Inn. They have excellent steaks, burgers and Friday Fish Fry (reservations recommended). The Butler Inn is a little on the high side price wise but the food and dining experience are well worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a wonderful evening at the Butler Inn. Three friends and I enjoyed a drink at a quiet table before dinner, and then had a great meal. We were there on a Friday, so we had the fish dinner. I had baked cod, which was delicious. The clam chowder was the best I've ever had!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Overall very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food and service always good. Would highly recommend.steaks are the best. Drinks good. Prices reasonable

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
1 review
“overall very good, but there were little things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

food was very tasty, waitress was very attentive,entertainment was great, but our meals were not served at the same time, our party of 8 waited a good 5 min. from first served to last served.it was my wifes 60th birthday, our total bill was almost $500, a piece of of birthday cake would have been a nice touch,but overall enjoyed the evening

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible from the start.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Started out with a long wait for a glass if wine. We had a party of 5 and were seated in the gazebo, which was nice. Immediately upon sitting down we had a customer scream vulgar language throughout restaurant which then led to a rather loud confrontation between 2 tables. Our server finally shows up and gets our drink order wrong. Ok, we over look that. Next we order appetizer which was calamari and takes a half hour. Then, we wait again about another 20 minutes for salad and again she forgets exactly what we ordered. Lastly, our dinner arrives, all steaks arrive and one was ordered medium and it appears VERY raw. The specials that were riveted for the night were the thinniest riveted I've ever seen and the server blamed these 1/2 thick terrible pieces of meat for why our food took over 45 min from the time we got our salads. The salmon at the table looked like it was from Sams Club and again even out sides were bad. We had a baked potatoe ordered with sour cream and butter on side, again waitress brings loaded...She paid no attention to detail and blamed everything on someone else. Oh yeah, she actually brought the cracked pepper shaker to our table AFTER, we had finished eating! And to cap this off, one of the guests at our table bit in to her hash browns and pulled out 2 long strands if hair and that was it! If you are going to charge the prices this place does, you expect and deserve HIGH quality food and service and this place was HORRIBLE!!!! And the management did not care one but about the customer just the money! Don't waste your time or money here, you'll get better service and food downtown. To be honest our bill was higher here than at a 4 star restaurant. DON'T EAT HERE!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butler Inn of Pewaukee also viewed

 

Been to Butler Inn of Pewaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butler Inn of Pewaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.