We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Four Seasons Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Four Seasons Island Resort to your Saves list
The Four Seasons Island Resort
N16800 Shoreline Drive, Pembine, WI 54156   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembine
St. Germain, Wi.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for 2 evenings and everything was very nice. The premium suites were taken and we received a luxury suite instead. Premium has a full kitchen and the other has a mini kitchen. The room and grounds were very clean and maintained well. All the employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful.We ate at the sports bar a couple of times and that was good also. The prices at the bar are reasonable and welcomed. Most resorts try to take advantage of guests at the bar. Not so at the Fourseasons.They also offer a free breakfast which is very nice. We are planning on returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Owner at The Four Seasons Island Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you Wisconsin Wizard for a wonderful review! So nice to hear from so many what a great time they had at our Beautiful Resort! Thank you for your positive feedback! IT is a compliment to all of us here at The Four Seasons Island Resort! We are looking forward to meeting you next time you visit us please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    44
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
80
140
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We like other contributors took advantage of a Travel Zoo offer and enjoyed a two night stay here during the first week in October. Before our journey to this resort I did check TA reviews of this resort and found a real mix of positive and negative reviews....the negative reviews focusing on things like the young age of many of the resort's employees, the comfort of the beds and pillows, and the poor level of customer service. First of all for anyone who is considering a stay at this resort let me assure you that you have nothing to worry about!

While I would never describe this place as a world class 5 star resort (which it does not pretend to be) it is nonetheless a first class resort in a beautiful setting. The grounds are well maintained and the resort is surrounded by beautiful large pine trees. The 9 hole executive style golf course was fun to play and allows a great opportunity to enjoy the scenery.....wildlife too....I saw a bald eagle! We were fortunate to have fantastic weather and early October is a perfect time to experience the fall colors. All the rooms at the resort are suites.....ours was very large, comfortable (beds and pillows too!), and well appointed. I think the rooms and common areas have all been recently renovated. The classic motorcycles and vehicles located in the common areas were a cool addition to the place. The pool and whirlpool area are beautiful.

I would rate the food at the resort as a solid B+.....a little room for improvement but it is definitely well above average. The menu items at the Steakhouse are a bit pricey and my only real issue with our meal here was that the vegetables served with the meal were only luke warm. I mentioned this to our very friendly and attentive waitress and she promised to say something to the chef. The meal we had in the Lounge Bar was very good. The Bar has a very nice upscale setting and a good vibe to it.

I have nothing but good comments to say about their customer service. Yes, many of their employees are younger.....but I don't believe in age discrimination! I think all the employees we encountered were very pleasant and were trying to ensure that customers had an enjoyable experience, especially the husband/wife owners of the resort. You will figure out who they are because they will be the two friendliest people you encounter.

A case in point on how hard they are trying.....the evening we ate in the Lounge Bar my wife ordered a personal pizza (mushrooms, tomatoes, and spinich). When the pizza arrived my wife told the friendly bartenderess that the pizza didn't have any spinich on it. She verified that she had entered the order correctly but then discovered that the kitchen had run out of spinich. We expected that they would simply adjust the price of the pizza. But the wife half of the ownership team, who was sitting at the bar across from us at the time, instructed her employee to make the pizza complimentary. A pretty darn nice gesture I think. When we left the Lounge after dinner as we walked past the owner she flashed us a great smile and said "sorry about the mixup on the pizza".

Definitely worth a return visit I would say!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Owner at The Four Seasons Island Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your Review! I appreciate it very much! Thank you for letting others know that we truly do go over and above to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay with us!
And yes I do remember your pizza! :-) I am so happy that you had a wonderful experience with us during your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights and were very impressed. The resort is even nicer than the photos suggest. The entire complex is beautifully maintained, it appears that the rooms have been renovated fairly recently, the restaurants are very good, the free continental breakfast was a nice touch, the free internet service was reliable, and the staff members are extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room compared very favorably to some of the nicer condos we've rented in prime resort areas. It had a separate bedroom, a decent sized "living area", and even a small kitchen. We're not golfers but the course looked beautiful and we heard favorable comments from other guests. Walking around the grounds of the resort was a very pleasant experience. A small convention group arrived on our second day which raised some concerns on our part about noise, but the group members were great and certainly not at all disruptive.

The two minor problems we had with our room (a very sticky substance on a shelf of the frig and a shower handle that didn't allow the flow of hot water) were courteously and efficiently remedied. By the way, the frig issue was definitely an exception - everything else in the room was impeccably clean. This resort is an ideal getaway. We live less than 3 hours away and were unfamiliar with the resort until we saw a TravelZoo promotion, but we will definitely return again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Owner at The Four Seasons Island Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the Review! We truly do appreciate it! I apologize for the inconvience of the shower handle, Our Maintenance team is very effecient and I am happy they resolved it quickly! I apologize for the sticky Fridge and will bring this up to housekeeping in our meeting this afternoon! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time. Food was very good. Rooms were very nice, staff was helpful. Great place to stay even if you do not golf. The area has nice waterfalls, fishing and other activities. Dont forget to see the Deyoung family zoo about an hour from the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleR124, Owner at The Four Seasons Island Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate it very much and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

First you need to know this is not The Four Seasons brand with a global presence that you might be thinking about. As far as I know this resort is not affiliated with The Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts.

Second, the resort is definitely an out of the way place to get to and if "away" is what you want, you'll definitely find it here. This resort is very clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We played unlimited golf on their fun yet challenging little course. Don't be fooled by it being only 9 holes. It plays like any good, well designed 18 hole course. I loved the course. The resort is located in a very pretty setting with the river essentially surrounding the complex. The fall colors were an added benefit for us. Staff were friendly but initialing and signing the check-in list of "does and don't s" felt like signing a corporate contract rather than checking in. All-in-all we had a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a great Travelzoo find for us! A beautiful old style Inn with gorgeous grounds and all you need for a long weekend right on site! The hotel owner and staff were friendly and it was immaculate!
Our suite was large and had a small porch overlooking the golf course.
I read a couple of poor reviews before we went and I have to say - DON'T believe them! It is true that the resort is " out in the middle of no where"... isn't that the purpose of a getaway?? The grounds are beautiful, the golf course is great, 2 bars, a large restaurant with a delightful and surprising menu, a large indoor swimming pool and hot tub , pool table , gaming machines, ping pong, library , tennis and basketball, weight room, bicycles, hiking trails, rivers for fishing with canoes, kayaks and a pontoon boat for your use...and if you have to, plenty of tv's around! Really - you couldn't find anything to do?!
We loved it and look forward to going back in the summer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Originally was hoping for the fireplace suite, but those were booked. Our room was beautiful with a view of the golf course. Room was very big, with a separate living room/kitchen area. The staff in the Boundary Waters grill were exceptionally wonderful since the lights went out in the whole area and we had just ordered lunch. We weren't able to get our lunch but the cook had made some other items that were done and we were offered them (yummy chips!!). We will definitely be back and tell friends. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Owner at The Four Seasons Island Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and that you will be back with your friends! WE love entertaining and meeting new people! Our Chef is an amazing man! Glad he was able to feed you during our Outage! That was the first time the power went out in a very long time! It was quite a windy day but the Electric company had it up and running in about an hour! Thanks for your review we appreciate it very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Four Seasons Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Seasons Island Resort

Address: N16800 Shoreline Drive, Pembine, WI 54156
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Pembine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened in 1905 by the Wisconsin and Michigan Railroad and located just 90 miles from Green Bay, WI and 28 miles from Iron Mountain, Michigan this 55 all suite hotel is located on the majestic Miscauno Island tucked into the north woods of Wisconsin. The magnificent historical facade continues to impress guests as they first peer up at the grand entry when traveling across the original one lane, one hundred year old, steel constructed bridge. Guests enjoy modern amenities while the resort’s original architecture, charm and relaxing ambiance have been tastefully preserved.Surrounded by a challenging 9 hole, par 34 golf course bordered by the Menominee River, the island offers something for everyone. Remember an era of travel with our vintage vehicles located in the steakhouse & lounge’s lobby. Relax and rejuvenate with a visit to the spa, indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna. Looking for something a little faster paced? The island has numerous activities to select from and easy access to snowmobile, 4-wheeling, cross country ski trails as well as an ice rink, tennis court, basketball, sand volleyball, fishing, boating and much more. Book A Room!The Four Seasons Island Resort offers a variety flexible meeting and banquet spaces. Perfect for social events such as weddings and receptions or executive meetings of 20 as well as gatherings for 400. The Four Seasons Island Resort will assist you in planning the perfect social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Four Seasons Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort
Four Seasons Pembine
Pembine Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Four Seasons Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.