We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a wet night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1212 Highway 13 South, Park Falls, WI 54552   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Park Falls
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place for a wet night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Planned on camping but the rain came, We spent a dry warm night with a very friendly night front desk lady, who gave us some insight of the Cement Park down the street. Room was very clean and smelled fresh, plenty of towels. Breakfast was fresh and coffee was very good. Glad we stopped. Bed was very comfortable and loved having 3 pillows on each bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

nice place to stay. no-frills but what's there is adequate. Everything was clean and functional. Bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was well stocked throughout the breakfast time and gave lots of options.

Regarding previous post about the second floor smelling of smoke, we did not experience this. We stayed on the second floor and everything was clean and smelled fine. Maybe someone had broken the no-smoking rules and had been smoking around when the previous poster stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel while visiting family in Park Falls. This also coincided with Flambeau Rama, the big yearly city festival. This hotel was booked solid, and on our first and second nights we had different rooms. On our first night, we stayed on the second floor. Before Wisonsin banned smoking in hotels, bars, and restaurants, this was the floor with rooms for smokers. They did not renovate these rooms after the law went into effect. A proper renovation of a smoker room into a non-smoker room means at least replacing the carpet and repainting, if not redoing the drywall to remove the baked in cigarette smoke. Because they did not not do this, the room smelled awful. I grew up with two smokers and I could not stand this room.

What was the hotel's response? First, there was nothing they could do for us because they were booked solid. That's understandable. But then they volunteered to us that at least five people before us had also complained about rooms ln the second floor. They then gave us a can of lysol to cover up the smell. Unacceptable. Either make it into a non-smoker room tomaddress the complaints, or advertise that the rooms on the second floor smell like years of cigarette smoking.

The second night, we had a room on the first floor. These rooms were always non-smoking. The rooms were both clean, well kept, and furnished as you would expect for an average American hotel. Since half the rooms in this hotel presumably smell like smoke,while the others do not, I would give this a 2 star rating. If they fix that second floor, I'd raise them to either 3 or 4 stars.

The staff were friendly and competant, though unexceptional. I have no comment on the breakfast since we ate with family while we were in town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This no-frills chain was new to me, but I found it to be a clean and well tended property. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are standard fare, nothing fancy. As the previous reviewer noted, the bed was super comfortable, even if the blanket was a little too old. If ever in the area again, I would stay here over the "mom and pops" in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel has the most comfortable beds of any I've stayed at in the area. The rooms are clean, and the check-in staff was pleasant. It was pretty quiet when I stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1212 Highway 13 South, Park Falls, WI 54552
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Park Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Park Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.