We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we go often” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primo's

Primo's
Jackson, Oshkosh, WI
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 140 Restaurants in Oshkosh
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Omro, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“we go often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

serves italian and american entrees and has a lovely salad bar for lunch. pastas are made fresh in house. we love it for lunch

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old school Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised. From the road, it doesn't look like much, and I would have passed it up if I hadn't seen the "salad bar" sign in front. The salad bar was decent other than the fruit flies, and so I just frult from underneath the top layer. My main dish -- eggplant parmesan -- came with other vegetables like asparagus tips, zucchini, yellow squash, and more. The eggplant did have a couple of large battered and fried pieces, but they were a good thickness, unlike the cheap over-battered frozen eggplant most places serve. Some of the smaller pieces of eggplant weren't battered at all. All of the veggies were cooked just right, with the asparagus just barely steamed and still a little crispy -- everything fresh The pasta texture was perfect, and although I do my homemade sauce differently, their creation was fine. I couldn't believe the quality of a roadside Italian restaurant. Service was good, too.

The place is older inside and out, and they play Dean Martin -- needless to say, they attract a lot of older customers. Behind the restaurant and visible from the dining room, there are flower beds and flowering shrubs, like gardens you'd often see in old world Italians' backyards. Very traditional old school Italian place, although they could use some modern updates, but not to the food. The dining room could be redecorated, and the front lawn was more brown than green. The trees needed new mulch, the flower pots out front needed watering, and so on. For now, that's all tolerable for food so good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I recommend the shrimp, had them here a couple times. Its a nice place with good menu. The dinning isn't very romantic, but very clean and open.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winneconne, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

No comparison between Primo and Olive Garden. We are still trying to figure out why anyone in the Osh area would not go to Primo.. Food is wonderful, the ambiance is conducive to fine dining and our wait staff have been excellent... and you can get a REAL reservation. This past weekend I had the salmon and chose asparagus as the side. The salmon was perfectly cooked, hot on the plate and the asparagus was tender. Husband had the trio of Italian specials; spedini, lasagna, shrimp with pasta. He had enough to take home for later dining. We probably average eating at Primo at least once a month and with all the nice restaurants in the Fox Valley area, that's something!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gluten Free?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife has celiac and must eat Gluten free. This was our second and last visit to this place. They advertise gluten free but my wife has gotten ill both times we ate there. The staff are undertrained and service was slow.

They brought her steak with onion rings on it despite our reminding the waitress three times that it must be GF. She resubmitted the order but when it did come it was the least flavored steak my wife had ever had. Absolutely no seasoning of any kind.


My pasta dish was unimaginative.


I have never written a negative review before. Primo was so bad I felt I had to.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's also viewed

 

Been to Primo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.