We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated but lacking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 S Washburn, Oshkosh, WI 54904 (Formerly Oshkosh Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Oshkosh
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Updated but lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

They have put some work into this location to update the rooms. We stayed in a room with one bed and when we first opened the door we thought that the room was nice looking. The lights, the tv, fridge, microwave all looked new and clean. The bathroom was ok once again it was updated with some modern furnishing. Though the wall had two different whit paints on it. So you can tell they did some patch work on the painted area. So the looks of the place was fine and looked modern. The outside of the place looks like something you would find in Florida and kind of has an upbeat feel to the place. Appearances of the place give this a good vibe.

Since we were at an event most of the evening and did not get back to our room until almost midnight we did not have time to notice that the room lacked some basic things. The room had no shampoo or Kleenexes, I also could not find a pen in the room to fill out the comment card to let them know that it lacked these basic things. The TV remote also did not work leaving me with no way to turn on the TV. Since it was after midnight by the time I figured this out I just lived without it. Though I did take the back off the remote and the battery compartment was full of corrosion so I doubt it worked for a long time. Since the TV is in an anti-theft box I could not just manually control the TV.

There did appear to be coffee in the lobby of the place as well as a bunch of vending machines.

Overall it still was decent stay just lacked some things that would make this place great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Jason S - We apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
6
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had a two night stay at this Motel 6. Upon arriving, I saw that the comforter had a suspicious whitish substance on it. Got it changed at the front desk with no issue. Also, the linoleum floor was extremely dirty...my feet were black from walking on it after a few minutes. The updated furniture is sleek and nice - gives the room a boost. But the stand up shower was moldy and needs an upgrade. Despite the updated sink and furniture, the room still feels old. There is no tissue paper, body wash, or shampoo/conditioner in the room - bring your own. Staff was very friendly at the front desk. Their housekeeping staff, however, needs some serious improvement. If you are on a low budget, then this motel is a decent choice. It isn't terrible, but it does need to improve its cleanliness. Just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Director of Sales at Motel 6, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Om2007,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness and maintenance issues you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burlington, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel purely for location but it was horrible...dirty, dirty, dirty! I was afraid to touch anything! I would not recommend staying there so if this is your only option, look for the next town over and drive!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Christy,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness issues you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Motel 6 because it was near the Airventure Airshow 2013. Motel 6 advertises the fact that they offer affordable rates. I paid $254 per night for 4 nights. Obviously they raise the rates for this event but that price is about 500% more that the usual rate. The room did not have a dresser or a closet and they did not offer facial tissues. I used a roll of toilet tissue as facial tissue. When I woke up the first morning the sheets were all undone. I thought to be quite odd because I am not a restless sleeper. I tried to make the bed and realized they had put a full size sheet on a queen bed. I asked the room attendant for another sheet. I tried to put that one on my bed but realized that she gave me another full size sheet. I finally received a queen sized sheet. Hardly worth $254 a night.
Just before I left for the airshow I asked the front desk if they could tell me how to get to the main entrance to the airshow. The front desk person was puzzled by my request and proceeded to look on the computer. It took me approximately one hour to find the entrance using the instructions the front desk gave me. Take into consideration that the airshow is approximately 10 minutes from the Motel. Not very good for an event that is held in Oshkosh every year. I went to the airshow at around 10 am and returned around 5 pm. My room was not made up. I wanted to relax after a busy day so I instructed the room attendant not to make up my room.
Over all the room was not worth $254 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We came for a cheap little getaway and stayed in this little cute room. Perfect for us just to chill and hang out by a pool for some sun. The room is small with efficient use of space. We stayed on the second floor with a king size bed. The bed was a bit firmbut do-able. Flat screen tv with usb, small fridge and microwave. Room was pretty sound proof. Seen pets around so they must be allowed, no bother to us. Staff at check in normal pleasant. Room very clean could of done surgery in it! First night, we will see how it goes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent Customer Service from Jazz, a young lady who works at the hotel. Had a problem with the wireless connection and told the front desk. Jazz was knocking on the door offering help and was very knowledgable. I left a braclet at the hotel and thought that I would never see it again. I called the hotel to ask if they had found it and Jazz had it and was waiting for me to call. She mailed it to me and I have it. This renews my faith that there are honest people in the world today. Customer service means everything today and I give my experience a 10 at the Motel 6.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while visiting Airventure in Oshkosh. We were looking for a cheap place to spend 1 night. While expensive it was still one of the cheapest options in the area and close to the airport so we went with it. The room was SMALL. Boxy with very little amenities. The bathroom was clean and the beds were okay but the maid seemed to literally cut corners. We had an ant problem and there were cobwebs everywhere. I booked a room with 1 queen size bed but was told when we arrived that they were giving us 2 double beds instead. There is very little sound proofing to the walls and we heard everything going un upstairs as well as to the room on our right. It is sparsely decorated which is okay but it comes off as looking very cheap and for the 120 we paid was not worth it. I might stay here again for 50/night but I think for next years airventure I will just camp!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 1015 S Washburn, Oshkosh, WI 54904 (Formerly Oshkosh Lodge)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oshkosh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Oshkosh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Oshkosh is conveniently located to Oshkosh Convention Center, Lake Shore Golf Course, dining and shopping. All guest rooms have a modern look with 32" TV, Free Wi-Fi, granite countertops, and wood effect flooring. All rooms are 100% Smoke Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hotel Oshkosh
Travelodge Oshkosh
Travel Lodge Oshkosh
Oshkosh Travel Lodge
Oshkosh Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.