We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel: No Longer Exceptional Bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Oshkosh

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Oshkosh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1886 Rath Lane, Oshkosh, WI 54902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Oshkosh
Milwaukee
1 review
“Good Hotel: No Longer Exceptional Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed several times at this hotel in recent years. Much has been said about the recent remodel. It's nice, but largely cosmetic. Decor perhaps matters more for others than for me. The only substantive change is the addition of a (small) workout room. I'm sure all this requires investment, but I'm not sure that it amounts to the rate increases, $10 or more a night (more if you want a fridge/microwave room), in terms of what we're getting compared to before.

That said, the reason I stay here is the quality and convenience. Rooms are unfailingly clean and comfortable, and staff is excellent. It's just that the recent increases now make it just a decent value, rather than the tremendous bargain it had been.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    41
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
42
24
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If all La Quintas are going this direction of this hotel, I will be a loyal fan. I stayed recently in this newly renovated hotel in Oshkosh for a conference in the area. I stayed there two years ago and the difference was night and day. The remodel made this hotel, a modern, elegant and very welcoming stay for me. I loved the gray woodgrain floors in the guest rooms and getting rid of the carpet was an excellent Idea for many reasons. I was quite impressed with the design and felt like I was in an upscale Minneapolis hotel. Good job Laquinta!! The best value I have ever seen!!! And being right near the highway, it was even quieter than I remember.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive about staying from the exterior looks of this hotel. However, as others have described, the interior renovations have made this hotel very nice and comfortable. Check in was very easy and the employee very friendly. I stayed in a king room which was very comfortable, quiet and clean. The exercise room is a little small with 3 pieces of equipment but everything was clean and the treadmill was in good working order. The one drawback for this pet friendly hotel for me was that there was no suitable place to take your dog. It is located in a cul-de-sac so I ended up just walking along the sidewalks. However walking through the parking lot to get to the sidewalk there were shards of glass.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juda, wi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recent remodels make this the best hotel in Oshkosh for the price. A former review by me dinged them for outdated fixtures and furniture, but the place has been given a facelift and will be my 1st pick for future stays. I travel to Oshkosh 1-2 per year and have been for about 15 years.

It has everything I am looking for in a hotel: clean, comfortable, good breakfast, friendly staff and nicely priced. Plus, good eats right next door at the Two Brothers (oh, yeah, check out the homemade ice cream!). Remember to use the discount on your room key at Two Brothers.

There is no hotel pool, which is fine by me but may be a disappointment for some.

Room Tip: Recently constructed roundabouts at this hotel's exit are a little misleading - be sure your GPS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is under going a very impressive remodel. We stayed in a newly completed room and were quite impressed. The hotel side facing the road you drive in on has not yet been completed so do not be alarmed by the look as you approach. I'm sure it will soon look as impressive as the entry side. There are a couple houses in an adjoining lot that need to be torn down. Don't let the look of them turn you away. This hotel is top notch and is a place I would return to without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed the room very much, a comfortable king bed and generous sitting area. It was VERY hard to find the place but not the Inn's fault. They had to take their signs down while road construction is going on. You can see it from the road but no directions on which way to take.
The staff was excellent and helpful when we wanted a place to eat.

Room Tip: Tell them you do not want to be near an ice machine or the 1st floor exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris ontario
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This an older two storey Hotel, that is in the process of a complete renovation. I was given a king room that had just been completed. Everything was new .There was new flooring in the entryway, and bathroom,and all new carpeting, in the room.new fixtures, in the bath area,all new furnishings,including king bed,and linens. There was a new T.V.,comfortable chair,work station, and all new lamps. Even the prints, on the walls were new. The main lobby was completely renovated,and they were still installing an all new dining area. Wayne, at the front desk was very helpful, directing me to the shopping areas,and places to get dinner.The only draw-back,and this may change, was the fact that there was very little green area, on the property. The front of the Hotel is all paved,and the rear has some areas, that could be sodded.Breakfast greeted me with a big surprise! I was amazed to see,what had been a nearly vacant room,yesterday, had been transformed into a lovely breakfast area. Everthing was brand new, The tables[with silk flowers on each]and chairs were all new. All the fixtures,and appliances were also new,along with utensils,napkin holders,etc. They offered a broad range of food. The only hot serving was waffles,but a good selection of hot, and cold cereals,muffins,rolls & breads,bagels,and cream cheese,and boiled eggs.There was also fresh fruit, and juices,and plenty of fresh,hot coffee. Hats off to the people who made this possible.

Room Tip: King room first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Oshkosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Oshkosh

Address: 1886 Rath Lane, Oshkosh, WI 54902
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oshkosh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oshkosh
#5 Business Hotel in Oshkosh
#7 Family Hotel in Oshkosh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Oshkosh 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Oshkosh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Oskosh Hotel Oshkosh
La Quinta Oshkosh
Oshkosh La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Oshkosh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.