We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Oshkosh

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Oshkosh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1886 Rath Lane, Oshkosh, WI 54902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Oshkosh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My previous stays at this location have been great. This time however I was checked into a room directly underneath an area of construction. I am a very reasonable person and put up with the pounding until about 7pm at which time I called the front desk to find out when that would end for the evening as I had an early morning. The young lady at the front desk said they normally end around 7:15 or 8 at the latest. I decided to wait since moving would be inconvenient. 8pm arrived along with a tremendous headache from the pounding. I walked down to the front desk and asked if there was another first floor room like mine I could move to and mentioned that I couldn't believe they would check someone into that situation. The young lady barely looked at me and said "I didn't check you in and we only have so many rooms available because of the construction." She informed me that the only room available was a different type of room. I asked if she could first find out when the crew would be done. She said she would check and call me. She called me a few minutes later and said they were done for the evening and I shouldn't hear anymore pounding. A few minutes later a very loud bang. Light pounding and noise were continued off and on until well beyond 9:30. Quiet after 10. The next morning I went to the front desk asking to be moved for my second night. Different person and was very empathetic and found a room just like my previous one on the first floor and I could move my stuff right away. Why wasn't that available to me the night before? As I began this review I have had otherwise great experiences at this property and will be back but perhaps some consideration and customer service awareness coaching would be helpful. Kudos to the front desk on the morning shift.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
23
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Check-in and check-out was quick and simple. Staff at the front desk were very friendly. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The price and ease of the experience made our stay very worth while. Will stay here again the next time we visit Oshkosh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This property used to be a Budgetel many years ago. While it has been updated cosmetically it still is an old building. We were unable to get a top floor so we experienced just how old the building is. The people above sounded as though they were going to come crashing down on us. Every movement they made caused creaking and cracking noises. The bathrooms are tiny. The place is clean however. The breakfast is ample but the breakfast room is very small, causing discomfort if there are more than a few groups in it. The restaurant next door is very good with reasonable prices and a good variety of food. The price was right, so we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Extremely clean. The beds are some of the most comfortable I've experienced at at hotel. Decent breakfast, nice lobby. A little bummed that there is no pool or fitness center, like the La Quinta in Appleton. Have stayed here a few times and have experienced some wireless Internet and cable issues on and off. If you are GPS'ing your way there, make sure you use the Rath Lane address, and not the Omro Road address, otherwise you'll get turned around. Overall very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juda, wi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When traveling for business, I general perfer to stay at a Holiday Inn Express or La Quinta - though I will stay at Super 8 and AmericaInn if the prices are not favorable at either of those 2.

What I thought was a steal of a rate on a good hotel turned out to be an OK rate on a lower end chain. Not that I mind, if that is my expectation, but it wasn't expected.

I chose to stay at La Quinta while staying in Oshkosh this past weekend over the Holiday Inn Express because of price. It was without a doubt the POOREST La Qunita I have ever set foot in. It was at older structure Motel 6 standard.

On the plus side, the bed was new and comfortable, there was a fresh coat of paint and newer carpets. The breakfast was decent and included waffles. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. On the negative side, the fixtures, curtains and structure appeared to be an old Super 8 or similar. There was so much light coming from around the curtains that I spent 1/2 the night thinking it was morning and that I had over-slept. Paint was slopped on doors and trim, bath fixtures were clearly old and pulling away from the walls.

It was the kind of hotel I would expect for the $65 I paid. So I have no gripes there, and the place was clean. But the quality did not come close to measuring up to other La Quintas of my experience. I will think twice about choosing La Quinta in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was a very nice stay. All went well. Had a accendent and the maids in the morning took care of it and was very pleasant about it. It was very hard to find the right road to get to the motel. Highway was changed and nothing was put up like signs to find the motel. you could see it but no signs to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Oshkosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Oshkosh

Address: 1886 Rath Lane, Oshkosh, WI 54902
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oshkosh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oshkosh
#5 Business Hotel in Oshkosh
#7 Family Hotel in Oshkosh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Oshkosh 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Oshkosh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Oskosh Hotel Oshkosh
La Quinta Oshkosh
Oshkosh La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Oshkosh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.