We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful renovation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 N. Main Street, Oshkosh, WI 54901 (Formerly Oshkosh Premier Waterfront Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Oshkosh
Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean, clean, clean. This is a beautiful renovation. We had stopped staying here because it was substandard and a little creepy. Not any more! We will be back. Great location, well run. Nice pool for the kids and friendly staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a river view. Not sure what else is offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Its great to have you back at the new hotel! Its definitely a new hotel, in rooms, restaurant, meeting space, etc. It was a lot of hard work that in the end was definitely worth the effort. The positive feedback and what this hotel now brings to the oshkosh community as a whole has been very invigorating. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and we look forward to your return stay with us.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    32
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
40
8
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AURORA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful view of the river, clean room, lush towels in bathroom, pleasant staff. A pleasantly memorable stay. I travel a lot for work and this is among the cleanest and most comfortable rooms I've seen. Will definitely come back again to enjoy the hotel, the outdoor patio, and the downtown area of Oshkosh.

Room Tip: Select a room with a river view - it's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are very happy that you found your stay comfortable and relaxing. When the hotel was rebuilt we had guest comfort in mind and many aspects of the guest rooms and services revolved around that critieria. We appredciate your feedback and the time you took to let us know how your experience went. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel and was very impressed! The hotel's recent renovation has made this a spectacular place to stay. The bedding, towels and pillows are all brand new. The surfaces on the nightstand, the mini kitchen and the bathroom are granite. New carpeting.The shower is amazing-excellent water pressure and massaging shower head. Loved the in room microwave, fridge, pod coffeemaker and room safe. Each day I returned and found my room back to perfect condition. Full breakfast changed slightly every morning. One day pancakes, then French toast. Always regular eggs, eggs with meat or cheese, sausages, bacon, toast, pastries, juices and yogurt. Coffee refills 24-hrs in lobby.The first floor Ground Round has indoor and outdoor seating as well as hosting the free hot breakfast every morning. I just wish Oshkosh had more to offer so that I could stay longer!

Room Tip: Rooms on east face bridge, music bandshell, convention center. Rooms facing west have fantastic suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are glad that you had such a great week and enjoyed your stay. Its always nice to know what guest like about the hotel and their stay. We look forward to the future return of all our guests and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Modern, comfortable hotel in a quiet, beautiful town. Positioned on the river and convenient walk to nice selection of downtown restaurants. A surprising selection in this small Midwestern town. The staff was welcoming and helpful. My travel companion even got a surprise upgrade to an executive suite that was spacious and lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are pleased that you took the time to write and share your experience. Our guests are very important to us and the fact that you found the hotel comfortable and pleasing means a lot to us. We are glad you chose to stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us, many more times in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed over night for the Gus Macker 3on3 Basketball Tournament. The facility was beautiful and the staff was great! The Ground Round is right on the river with a beautiful outdoor patio area! What an excellent addition to downtown Oshkosh!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. It was a lot of fun having the Gus Macker 3on3 Basketball Tournament stay with us. Being a part of the excitment of that particular weekend, with tournaments, weddings, ect in-house, was a rebirth for the hotel. After being closed for such an extensive renovation/rebuild it was fantastic be part of such a large community event weekend. Thank you again for your input and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night and was very impressed with the renovation. We had a king room and it had everything you could want, plenty of seating, great bed, a great coffee bar with refrigerator, micowave and safe. Plenty of towels and not paper thin. They did a nice job with lighting and all the lamps have plugs in them. The decor was really nice, great soothing colors. We felt we didn't have to go any where else it has it all, pool, bar, great restaurant with seating inside or outside on the water. The staff were great. In the lobby area it has a great business room, plenty of computers hooked right up to your own printer. To say the least we were very impressed with everything, this is something that Oshkosh needed and Best Western Premier really did it up right!

Room Tip: Try not to get on the street, it tends to be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are very glad you found the new renovation fantastic! Oshkosh definently needed this trasformation and it's great to know that guests agree. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and we appreciate you sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I celebrated a special anniversary in June and I surprised her with a special suite and package at a local hotel- the Best Western Premier. While it might seem a bit odd to do this in our own town, we had a function in the area to attend the next day so I didn’t want to have to drive too far and, frankly, I was curious about the recent renovations at the Best Western Premier.

Well, everything was superb! The check-in process went well. The only very minor glitch was we had a sweet champagne in our basket [the special package we had purchased] but we were able to have it exchanged for a dry Pinot Grigio wine that we preferred. The two-room suite was quite large and had great views of the Fox River from both rooms. The in-room whirlpool tub was great and everything worked well. The 42 inch TV was very nice, the bathroom was great [I wish there had been a few more hooks to use, but I have that problem at just about every hotel I stay at]. The bed, pillows, and bedding were very comfortable and we both slept very well that night.

Our “Romantic Escape” package was very nice- the wine, a box of assorted chocolates from the local Hughes Chocolate store [I’ve also reviewed it in Trip Advisor], a bottle of massage lotion and another of men’s bath wash, and a bag of caramel corn from another local company- Caramel Crisp & Café. I thought it was a very nice touch to have local businesses included in the package.

We enjoyed a drink at the outside bar right on the dock [OK, I had two] and really enjoyed watching all the boating activity. This was also during their Happy Hour and the drinks were only $2.50 each.

We had dinner that night at another local restaurant but had breakfast at the hotel the next morning. We had the buffet that came with the package and everything was quite good- several hot dishes including a nice egg dish that was very good, hot ham, potatoes, hot cereal and several other things- all very good. There was also cereal, fruit, pastries, etc.

I was MOST impressed when the manager asked me to review our stay on Trip Advisor- and was happy to report I would do so- and that I was a frequent contributor to Trip Advisor.

This was not an inexpensive package but I had checked a few other places and felt that the price was in line with the other packages available in the area. You can check their website for further details. I thought it was a “good value” and recommend staying at the Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and on a corner so we had a view both to the west and to the south. Very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write a very thourogh review, the description you gave of the hotel and how your stay went. It was a pleasure having you stay with us especially on such an important event. We are thrilled that you loved the hotel and being a local guest, you know how important the success of this facility is to the town. The renovation/rebuild project was definently needed and we are pleased that guests love the hotel. Thank you for your input and we appeciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 1 N. Main Street, Oshkosh, WI 54901 (Formerly Oshkosh Premier Waterfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oshkosh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oshkosh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oshkosh
#1 Family Hotel in Oshkosh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the Fox River in downtown Oshkosh, lies the beautiful BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center. Spring of 2013, the $13 million renovation project will be completely finished with renovating and reinventing the inside of the hotel. The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center features eight floors with 176 guest accommodations, most of which have scenic views of the Fox River and/or Lake Winnebago, over 5,500 square feet of function space, pool, whirlpool, fitness center, game room, guest laundry and a full breakfast option with each guest room. The hotel is connected to the Oshkosh Convention Center which has an additional 18,000 square feet of flexible function space and stunning riverside views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Oshkosh
Park Plaza Oshkosh
Oshkosh Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.