We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accomodations-but surprising service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Croix River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osceola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Croix River Inn
Save
You added St. Croix River Inn to your Saves list
305 River, Osceola, WI 54020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Osceola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodations-but surprising service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The atmosphere is beautiful, the room delightful. The host is very polite. Breakfast was delicious and served privately in our room. We were very surprised, however, that after spending a significant amount of money on this lovely room that our bed was not made and our towels not changed. After getting back to our room late in the evening, we looked and found in the fine print that if we wanted linens to be serviced, we needed to hang a sign on our door indicating that. Seems that might be something a person would mention during the introductory tour (which, was really quite informative). Had we had our bed made, or even notification that we had to ask in order to have that done, I would have given this Inn 5 stars, no question.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
215
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My Wife and I just celebrated our 30th Anniversary by "flying" from the Twin Cities to Osceola to get away together for a few days. We stayed here about 15-20 yrs ago and it was good then. It had only gotten Better. Ben the owner made us feel like we were his only concern. He is a very good chef and we had coffee and breakfast in our room (traditional here) each morning. The rooms were Great, the views of the St. Croix are priceless (most rooms have a semi-private deck to sit on). Furniture, details and cleanliness were AAA. Great hosts, great location, one of the best B&B experiences we have had.
D&D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I like to stay in B and B's whenever we can, it is more personalized than a hotel and there is the social aspect of getting to meet others that are staying there. It is nice to trade stories about local food options and what the surrounding area has to offer.

We had a 2 night stay in the Afton Room last weekend. Andrew was working the week prior to our arrival and answered all of our questions promptly and confidently. He was there upon our arrival and made us feel very welcome. He can set you up with a canoe if needed and provide lots of advice on area restaurants and activities, as he grew up in the area. The room, although it did not have a river view, rather, it faced the church parking lot across the street from the Inn was absolutely great. Well decorated, mini fridge, shower, aerated tubs (much more hygienic) and cleaned daily by the very friendly staff. We spent time in the main gathering space having a drink, reading the paper and enjoying the views of the river. We chose to take our breakfast in the main gathering room, and that was nice too. The staff brought coffee to our room prior to serving us breakfast in the dining area. The food was excellent.

Ben, the owner, came in on Saturday to relieve Andrew. Ben made doubly sure that we were comfortable, had everything we needed and even took us on a quick tour of some of the other rooms in the Inn before our departure. The rooms are HUGE by B and B standards, very clean and the Inn was super quiet. It might have been the 18 inch thick limestone walls that helped, but we never heard any sounds except for the birds singing outside our room every morning. We would definitely return here for another stay, there is a lot to do in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have both a shower and the whirlpool type tub (aerated so much more hygienic). It was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The St Croix River Inn is all that it advertises. Andrew, our host, met us at the door and introduced us to the lovely, restored inn. Our room, the Bayport, was well appointed with a whirlpool bath, a very comfortable bed, a cabinet with a full stereo and TV. The fireplace gas heater provided just the right amount of warmth on a cool night. Our room had a balcony, supplied with a table and chairs, overlooking a beautiful view of the the St. Croix River. The common dining and living room area are lovely and comfortable. A snack is served at 8 p.m. each night. We ate a delicious breakfast in the dining room but breakfast is usually served in your room. The quite elegance, lovely location and friendly reception and attentiveness by the innkeeper earn the St Croix River Inn a top rating.

Room Tip: I believe that all the rooms have a view of the river. The main difference in the rooms is their si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We drove in from Milwaukee and were tired after a long trip. We found the St. Croix River Inn to be such a delightful, peaceful stop. Our room was beautiful, and the special Acryline Bubble Tub with aroma therapy salts was just what we needed to unwind. The view from our porch was stunning, and our breakfast served to our room was fabulous. Nice touch to have a coffee tray served first to help us wake up. We will definitely be back- thinking of a winter trip to go cross country skiing next time.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the river, if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambier, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed in the Stoneleigh room and it far exceeded my expectations. The bed and breakfast is a storied building with unbeatable views of the Saint Croix river. When they advertise river views they mean it. I had full panoramic views from the bathroom tub and the four season porch. The little touches were endearing as well, i.e., little welcome notes, cookies placed out at night, etc. The breakfast was simple but good, nothing too heavy and a great start to the day. As for the town,I grew up in Stillwater but rarely got around to Osceola but it is certainly worth the trip. It is much smaller than its popular cousin and with fewer attractions but also much less crowded and not as built up.

I look forward to visiting again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first visit to the St. Croix area where we went primarily for the bike trails. It was a sincere escape when we arrived at The St. Croix Inn for our stay. We were greeted by the owner Ben, who showed us nothing but first class service in his gorgeous B & B. This is definitely a 5 Star in my book and I can't wait to return; I am sure we will make this at least a yearly outing. The entire building was pristine and the rooms were well-attended. I loved the robes, the therapy tubs, the breakfast delivered to your room, and the view was superb. All very enjoyable at a reasonable price. Make this a place for any special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Croix River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Croix River Inn

Address: 305 River, Osceola, WI 54020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Osceola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Osceola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the bluffs of the St. Croix River, the Inn offers spectacular river views that are enhanced by our elegant and comfortable ambiance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Croix River Hotel Osceola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Croix River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.