We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish there were more of these hotels in more locations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Save Saved
You added Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Onalaska
Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wish there were more of these hotels in more locations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Never heard of this very small chain before and perhaps they are so good because of their size. This was nothing like other chain hotels in a similar price range. Upon entering the lobby, we found a cozy fire, northwoods decor, and the feel of a lodge, as well as very pleasant, helpful staff. Then we moved to our large, comfortable room. The bathroom had a cute basket of scented toiletries that hint of a spa. Our room looked out onto a wetlands area, so there was no hint of traffic or other noise. It was even dark enough to see oddles of stars. Very nice room all around. Free breakfast was a tad above basic continental. Included lots of grains: cereals, muffins, bagels, biscuits w/gravey, make-your-own waffles, pre-made and reheat French toast, along with juices and yogurt. No eggs or other protein that would stick with you on a busy day. All-around good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    63
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
77
56
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermillion, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I recently stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn with a rather large group and the staff did an amazing job! Everything was set up for us, the rooms were great and it is very accessible to a number of restaurants and bars!! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I went up last year for thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. We booked our reservation online for the cheapest room we could get and when we checked in we where upgraded to a very nice room at no extra charge. We really like the pool that they have their as you can swim inside or outside year round, the pool stretches outside from inside. The whole place looks great with a outdoor woods kind of feel to it. We look forward to the next time we go to lacrosse so we can stay their again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

We loved this place! Very clean, great woodsy decor, off the main road - just fantastic! Nice little fresh breakfast, good coffee, a really fun pool (starts inside and you can swim to the outdoor part!). Huge hot tub! Pool and hot tub open from 6 am to 11 pm which is marvelous! Free wifi. This place has everything!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was our first visit to this hotel, and we were pleasantly surprised by our stay. We stayed two nights, Friday and Saturday. We went to this area for a day of biking along the Great River, and the La Crosse River trails. It's located in a very nice area with plenty of restaurants available, plus the bike trails are just a few miles away. The breakfast in the morning was convienient, yet very simple. We enjoyed the room's northwoods decor, and also enjoyed the overall anemities of the hotel.

We biked a total of 65 miles on Saturday, thoroughly enjoying the beauty of the Mississippi valley area and bluffs. After biking we took in dinner at Piggy's restuarant in downtown La Crosse, which also was a treat.

Overall, it was a good experience and I'd recommend it for other travelers in the area.

Room Tip: We upgraded from the standard room, which gave us extra room and a whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We discovered this hotel two years ago and just recently spent two nights there. The lobby is exactly like you picture a cabin in the mountains. So many amenities in the lobby alone, including fruit bowl, candy bowl, popcorn, board games and books to read, lovely gift shop----- as well as a wonderful hotel staff. I have to recommend Judy at the front desk who was "just the best" I have found in a long time. Off the lobby is the breakfast room (awesome breakfast) with an" always on" coffee and tea area.
Throughout the hotel which has many convenient meeting rooms, wedding facilities etc. I love the decorator of this place as the artwork and displays are wonderful to view.
The rooms come in all descriptions for different tastes. There are three cottage's which have an exit to the woodsy area which is a fun walk throughthe backwoods of the Valley View mall- country in the city. The rooms are clean, spacious and offer many themes; we had the golfers dream theme. Very nice place. Reasonable rates in September. Least I forget, there was a lovely inside/outside pool area with huge TV and fireplace lounge area. Too many good things to remember....
Location is excellent, 15 minute or less walk to Valley View Mall, restaurants are too numerous to mention across the street, 2-3 minute access to I:90. You must go!!!!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Refrigerator and microwave included in the room price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was expecting a run-of-the-mill budget hotel when I reserved, but I was pleasantly suprised to see the northwood themed hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The on-site bar and pool areas were excellent. We will have to stay again with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Address: 3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of La Crosse/Onalaska is your haven after a busy day of snow skiing, shopping or cruising the Mississippi river. We have 157 uniquely appointed hotel rooms, including theme suites with whirlpool baths and stone fireplaces. For family getaways, our rooms feature king-size beds and sturdy double-deck log bunks for the kids. We offer 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse Hotel Onalaska
Stoney Creek Hotel
Stoney Creek Onalaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.