We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always something for a dirty suprise.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse to your Saves list
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3240 North Kinney Coulee Road, Onalaska, WI 54650   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always something for a dirty suprise.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stay here for work. And each week I find something new to disgust me. Its always noisy cause of the location next to the highway. SHEETS...bring your own. They dont wash them. I have sheets now with yellow stains. My bathroom came with the last guys washcloth hanging in the shower stall. And there are toe nail clippings next to the bed. They dont vacuum either. The place is a housekeeping disaster. I always find something. But the sheets are always dirty. Stay elsewhere. Im stuck here since my company pays for it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    119
    68
    37
    18
See reviews for
112
72
39
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Had everything you need if your traveling.. and was very clean and fresh. I know why they call them Micro-tels though.. very compact. The breakfast they offered was ok, nothing special... coffee, muffins, bagels, instant oatmeal, small assortment of cold cereals, but no juice.. that was disappointing. All in all the price wasn't too bad as we got it on hotwire, the bed was comfortable and it was close to Lacrosse.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

The room was clean enough and was the typical small Microtel room. Our stay would have been uneventful except for their a/c-heating unit which created a problem. We arrived about 11 pm after a long drive and just wanted to get to sleep. When we went into our room the air conditioner had been left on and it was freezing in there. My husband decided to warm things up a bit by turning the unit onto low heat. It hadn't been on more than a minute when it began smelling terrible, so he turned it off and we opened the window instead. At that point the desk clerk knocked on our door and asked if we had started a fire, that someone had called the fire department. He inspected the room and tried to call off the FD. It was too late and we had to leave our room and sit in the lobby until the FD arrived and inspected our room. At least they didn't evacuate the entire hotel, but one guest who came in the lobby and asked what was going on said the alarm had gone off the previous night. A woman across the hall from our room stuck her head out and asked what was going on and when my husband told her, she said she too, the previous night, had turned on her heat but shut it off immediately because of the smell. When the FD trudged in, it looked like it hadn't been their first visit!
I realize that dust probably built up over the summer and the heaters hadn't had the chance to "burn it off" for the fall, but it seems that if several rooms have had this problem that the management should have been dealiing with it during the day so guests don't call the FD or get kicked out of their room at night. When it first happened, before the FD came, the desk clerk asked us if we wanted a different room. We said no, that the fresh air would clear out the smell and we'd stay put. Later, while waiting for the FD, we asked if we could change rooms and he said there weren't any available.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed at Microtel the majority of my stay in Wisconsin. About 5 days. The breakfast was adequate but not extraordinary. The staff was courteous, and the rooms were clean but the bedding was only changed one night. The internet service was uninterrupted and the parking was good. I had a room just around the corner. They let me in early, about 1pm with no charge for the day and I needed to stay an extra day and they did not charge me any different cost. Overall, a very good value for the daily rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed here one night during a cross country road trip. This was one of the nicer hotels we stayed at the entire time. Comfortable beds, clean rooms. Pet friendly was also a big plus for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed here one night during our road trip. It is by the highway. We were worried about the noise, so we asked and got a room not facing the highway. It turned out that we heard more from next door than the highway.

The room was simple and clean. The breakfast is also good. I like that they provide individual packed milk and individual packed cereal. The only thing we would complain is that they don't provide hair dryer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

HORRIBLE! Something disgusting, looked like blood stains, on the bathroom floor. Very noisey you can hear the people next door opening and closing the drawers all night. FIND SOMETHING ELSE!

  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse

Address: 3240 North Kinney Coulee Road, Onalaska, WI 54650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Onalaska (La Crosse Area) Hotel Onalaska
Microtel Onalaska
Onalaska Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.