We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went twice for lunch! Great food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maggie's Restaurant

Maggie's Restaurant
205 Main St, Onalaska, WI 54650-2948
608-519-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 50 Restaurants in Onalaska
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Went twice for lunch! Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went to Maggie's twice this week because of the great service and food we had here! I enjoyed the three cheese grilled cheese sandwich with a cup of homemade chicken noodle soup and homemade potato chips and bistro sauce. Karen was serving us Wednesday and was very attentive and pleasant. Went again Thursday and the blue cheese burger was absolutely fabulous. A hidden gem in Onalaska away from the chains and delicious! Highly recommended for price vs value! Bon appetit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waited 45 minutes for a burger and BLT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We heard that this place had good food and I was craving cheese curds so we gave this a try as it was in good proximity to the hotel we were staying. We sat down quickly and ordered within 5 minutes. We ordered the cheese curds, then waited 30 minutes to get them. They cost $10 so we thought they'd either be amazing, or there would be a lot of them. They we just okay, and were few. Huge waste of money. We then waited an additional 20 minutes for our meal - a burger and a BLT (not toasted). Some people who came in behind us were served before us, and they ordered a steak. Why does a BLT take longer to cook than a steak??? We wanted to leave, but kept hoping out food would 'come soon' like we were told over and over. The waitress did take $3 off our ticket, but we could have had better food served more quickly if we went somewhere else. Huge waste of time and money. The food was just average. Oh, and it was my birthday dinner.... so thanks for screwing that up Maggie's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Take your statins before ordering breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Somehow I've managed to live here a few years and overlook this little spot in downtown Onalaska. Perhaps that's because Onalaska spells "shopping mall," and most of our visits to the suburb involve visits to Target, Home Depot and big-name franchise eateries. You have to go out of your way to visit Maggie's, but it's worth it.

My late breakfast was fairly straightforward: a tall Bloody Mary and a smothered skillet of hash browns, cheese, veggies and bacon. The food was delicious, the service prompt and courteous ... but I couldn't escape the mental calculations of a skyrocketing cholesterol reading.

If your waistline (and arteries) can survive an onslaught of fats, then you're all set. And if you're going to die from arthersclerosis, why not enjoy yourself first with a tasty breakfast skillet?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Because of the association with the owner of Traditions, we were excited to see Maggie's open. We have gone several times and they have been consistent; poor service, poorly prepared food, inattentive wait staff. We quit giving them time to get it right. I've had similar comments from many of my friends.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOLA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

One of the best breakfasts I've ever had, and I travel all over the upper Midwest every week. The only suggestion I might make is that the maple syrup should be slightly warmed ... It's a real buzz kill to have cold syrup on warm pancakes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maggie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.