We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving from the Outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   308 Hampton Court, Onalaska, WI 54650   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Onalaska
Antioch, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Deceiving from the Outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

As we drove up to this hotel I wasn't impressed by the outside. Given it's winter and snowy, so it may appear more inviting in other seasons, but I was a bit aprehensive from the somewhat rundown and dated look of the exterior. I should not have been concerned as the interior was contemporary and updated. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The beds were super comfortable and I love the fact that the duvet covers are cotton and are washed after each guest. The interior is not unlike a million other hotel rooms, but I found the setup very convenient - there is a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker in a compact area. The room temps were easy to regulate and it was easy to keep the room warm or cool it off a bit. The pool looked very nice, we didn't use it, but had planned on using the hot tub which was unfortunately out of service. It would have been nice it they had offered some sort of compensation for this inconvenience. The included breakfast had something for everyone - hot egg dish (western omelets one day, scrambled eggs with cheese and ham the next), potatoes, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, breads/muffins, waffles, mixed fruit, and whole fruit. Two negatives were the fitness center - which had a low end treadmill, eliptical, and bike - and that was it. And the front desk staff were sullen and unfriendly at check in and when we had a few questions during out stay. Other staff we encountered were very friendly - so maybe we hit it at a bad time, but it just sets a bad tone when you feel you are bothering someone when checking in or asking a question. I'd considering staying again when in the area but feel the staff needs some training on customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    61
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
77
47
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stay at the Hampton Inn somewhat frequently for business. Last year I came out to the parking lot after an 8 - 10 inch snow and someone with a snow broom asked if I would like help cleaning off my car. I said, "Of course! Are you just a good samaritan?" No, she was the manager of the hotel. Now that's going above and beyond.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hampton Inn is best identified as a consistent brand. I have stayed in their hotels across the country and have found them consistent. Nothing to get excited about, but nothing negative either. Sure you will occasionally find an individual property that is run down, but that is true of the high end brands as well. This hotel was consistently Hampton Inn.

The room was clean and will furnished, the bed was comfortable and the TV offered an adequate selection of channels. The breakfast was adequate, but not excellent. The lobby was clean and well furnished. The gym offered a treadmill, an elliptical and a bike along with a TV, towels and water.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I be excited about it? No. It provides a needed service without any 'ah' factor. And don't try to read between the lines, this is not a negative review. It is just acknowledging a perfectly adequate hotel that delivers what it promises without going overboard.

Room Tip: As usual, ask to stay away from elevators and vending areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Checked in for one night with my family. We live locally but had a free night certificate to use. We have stayed at Hampton Inns many times before and this experience is very similar to most of the others. The rooms are clean and modern. Check in was smooth and the breakfast was actually better than other Hampton's we have stayed at. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

One of the nicer Hampton Inns. A mile off the interstate with two restaurants across the parking lot, and others + a Walmart nearby. Quiet despite proximity to the freeway, and a very nice breakfast room and lobby. Hotel works closely with Allergy Associates specialty clinic nearby, and is very willing and able to accommodate special requests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn because we were checking out the University of La Crosse and based our decision to stay here due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is very clean from the front lobby to the rooms. Front desk service was very good and when I requested some extra toothpaste and towels they were given to me with a smile. The hotel was fairly busy, but didn't hear our neighbors at night which was good because I am a light sleeper. Had breakfast in the morning and I thought they had some good choices like scrambled eggs, french toast sticks and you could make waffles too. My husband wished there had been either sausage or bacon, but not a big deal. I thought the scrambled eggs were very good, sometimes at hotels the eggs can be very runny or rubbery and these were neither. Bottom line, if my daughter decides to go to school in La Crosse, we will be making the Hampton Inn our hotel of choice when visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is awesome. Clean, comfy, warm and inviting. English is the language of choice here, even for housekeeping, which is rare for hotels these days. This is the best nights sleep I have had in any hotel. Breakfast changed daily and it is busy for a reason. Everything was well stocked and well kept. Manny's, Outback and Quiznos are all within walking distance. Well worth our money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska

Address: 308 Hampton Court, Onalaska, WI 54650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hampton Inn La Crosse/Onalaska located only 4 miles from the La Crosse Municipal Airport. Other attractions include the Black River wetlands and businesses such as APAC, Midwest Security Insurance and Sagebrush. All Hampton Inn guest rooms include free internet, free hot breakfast (or grab a On the Run breakfast bag), free hot tea and coffee in the lobby. Relax in our pool or whirlpool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska Hotel Onalaska
Hampton Inn Onalaska
Onalaska Hampton Inn
Lacrosse Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.