We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if you need a place for the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9409 Highway 16, Onalaska, WI 54650   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Onalaska
Darby, Montana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not bad if you need a place for the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here a few days and overall was not bad ( not great either ) I see from some of the other reviews the same things. Attention to detail would be nice ( the so-called desk chair was broken and when I turned it over to see if I could fix it to use I found a few years worth of cobwebs and egg sacks ) I had the do not disturb sign on the first morning there ( until around 11am ) and no housekeeping service for that day ( I guess they only hit there early in the morning ) after that I am sure the sheets were not changed until I left ( when in a hotel it is nice to say change the sheets every other day if you're there for a few days ) WIFI was slow so beware if you have updates to install. Over all I would have to rate this as an average property. Yes the A/C units were dated and did bring up the humidity in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
13
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seabeck, Wa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently stayed at this Holiday Inn Express in Onalaska. We booked it on Hot Wire, which considered this a top hotel, on par with the Radisson, Marriot, Holiday Inn, etc. I certainly wouldn't put it on par with any of them. It was conveniently located near the highway, the reception area was very nice and the breakfast served was quite adequate. On the down side, the room was not as clean as I expect in my travels. The loveseat was very badly soiled and I wouldn't sit on it without a towel underneath me. Ditto for the upholstered chairs. My complaint on the bathroom is although it is spacious there are no towel bars, so the towels either pile up on the vanity or on the floor!! So of course we wasted towels that could have been reused because there was no place to hang them. The king sized bed was very comfortable and although alot of kids were staying in the hotel it was very quiet. So overall I'd rate it about 2 and a half stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear jjber1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I appreciate the compliments about our nice reception and breakfast service. I am glad you found our hotel quiet and beds comfortable. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. I am sorry that there were no towel bars in the bathroom and the room condition you received was not what you expect from our hotel. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort it may have caused you.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The rooms we got were great, breakfast was the standard spread and the girls working the desk seemed very nice. The room was spacious with a sofa sleeper, fridge, microwave and flatscreen TV. However, this is an older property and due to the age of the AC units the room was muggy. Maintenance did look at the AC unit and said many were failing was because they overheat and shutdown; and had not been properly serviced in years. His account is that they had been having issues with a vendor who had charged them but had not done the work right. The Internet login they use is lame - some odd code is required every single time you check email, or anything. I was booted off constantanly and had to relogin every time I unlocked my device. This requires locating their code, madeup of random numbers and letters, of course I lost this paper and front desk wouldn't answer the phone - They need to make it something memorable. The dryer also didn't work.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear aaainvestor,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you liked your room accommodation and our nice front desk staff. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the air conditioner and the internet connection. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May. The people at the front desk were very helpful. Room was average, as was breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located near the shopping mall and a number of restaurants (mostly chain ones), but traffic is very heavy in the area, and it will take 15-20 minutes to get to downtown La Crosse. You can drive about a mile to a trailhead for the La Crosse River State trailm, which is good for running, walking or biking.

Room Tip: rooms facing the main road may be noisier, although the hotel is set back a bit. Also, some of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We got into town late and were meeting people for dinner at 8 so we quickly checked in and left our luggage, turned on the AC and went to dinner.
When we returned much later, I noticed a black, ashy substance on the comforter. I called down to the desk and asked about it and she said that is was lint or something from the air conditioner. I asked if it was mold and she said no, definitely not. She asked if we wanted to change rooms but the thought of changing at this late hour and we had to be up early didn't appeal, so we took the comforter off the bed.
I then went to take a shower and when I pulled the shower curtain shut an filthy, damp wash cloth fell into the shower! It was disgusting. I asked my family if anyone had used a washcloth before we left and no one had. The fan did not work in the shower and the faceplate was off an outlet and dangling on the lamp cord that was plugged into it. There was no paper and pen in the room and NO comment card.
The next morning when we went down I told a young lady huddled at the desk in a cardigan with a hole in the shoulder about our experience, she wrote down all our issues and said it sounded like the room needed maintenance. She made it sound so normal and common place! Then we went to have breakfast and 'Fox and Friends' was blaring instead of the news. We did get a complimentary USA Today so we were able to read the news.
On the plus side, it was a nice large room, though we weren't in it much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear 4of6,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received room accommodations which were unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is nice and clean. The rooms may have been recently remodeled, but the mix of the decor makes one wonder who was in charge of the upgrade. Maybe it was done half way? Nonetheless, for the LaCrosse area, it is a nice hotel with an extra pull out bed, microwave and small refrigerator. You can't ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)

Address: 9409 Highway 16, Onalaska, WI 54650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in the Greater LaCrosse Area. Whether corporate or leisure travel brings you to our premiere location, our friendly and professional associates are sure to make you feel appreciated and welcome. The hotel is located just minutes from the Mississippi River, historic downtown LaCrosse and UW LaCrosse. Begin your day with our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our signature hot cinnamon rolls, and hot breakfast items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and biscuits with gravy. All of this plus fresh brewed Smart Roast coffee, juice, cold cereal, yogurt and bagels .Our newly renovated hotel features spacious, contemporary guest rooms with complimentary high speed wireless Internet access and local phone calls. Work out in our fitness center or relax in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Onalaska is located across the street (walking distance) from TGI Fridays, all guests receive a 15% discount with room key. For those who prefer to relax and dine in, Room Service is available from TGI Friday's Nightly 5pm-10pm On site meeting accommodations for up to 40 people. Stay 'smart' when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Pet Friendly Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) Hotel Onalaska
Holiday Inn Onalaska
Onalaska Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.