We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manny's Mexican Cocina

Manny's Mexican Cocina
301 Hampton Ct, Onalaska, WI 54650-6701
608-781-5601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food is actually 4 stars, but the pricing is quite high so it averages out to a 3 in my opinion. pleasant atmosphere, good service

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a surprise to find a very good Mexican SEAFOOD restaurant in the middle of the state of Wisconsin! We checked into our hotel and asked if there were any restaurants that were not part of a chain, which was all we had seen when we drove in to town. They suggested either the Italian restaurant, Ciatti's, or Manny's Mexican Cocina. We chose Manny's and were very happy with our selection. Three of us shared a pitcher of very good Margaritas and all of us enjoyed our entrees. Three of us had seafood dishes and one had a vegetarian dish and all were very enjoyable. It was one of the better Mexican meals I've had in the state of Wisconsin! The restaurant was very large and the decor was quite nice, and welcoming. The only criticism I have is we initially thought we'd sit outside as it was a warm evening, but it was past sunset and it was so dark outside (very poor exterior lighting) that we couldn't even read the menu so we moved inside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top Seafood and Southwestern food in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I found this restaurant because it is opposite the Onalaska Hampton Inn and was open at the late hour of my arrival. I had to take back my resistance to eating seafood while in the Midwest (except for walleye of course) and found the quality outstanding. In addition the Tex-Mex items were compelling and the bar service reasonable; yes you get a full martini glass!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Manny's is a big restaurant, well decorated and well run. Our waitress was pleasant and attentive. We ate outside and enjoyed the fresh air, although there is not a view, other than parked cars. The food is a bit overpriced, but good enough. We had fajitas and a grilled tuna salad. The tuna was cooked perfectly. The fajitas were so-so, but filling and well-spiced. The meal was fine and the service was good. We'd stop again, if we were in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor and Google reviews. I was seated promptly and my waitress appeared on the spot to take my drink & appetizer order. Very pleasant personality and frequently came back to see how I was doing. The atmosphere was pleasant and the decor was more imaginative than some of the Mexican chain restaurants I've eaten at elsewhere. I ordered a fried calamari appetizer that came a bit over-fried in my opinion. I followed that with a chicken chimichanga, my usual fare at Mexican restaurants. Like too many restaurants these days, the helping size of the chimichanga was simply too large. I'm not good at describing flavors, but suffice it to say that the chimichanga did not have the flavor that I am accustomed to or that I liked. I am not averse to trying out new flavors, but there was something about this chimichanga that I simply did not like. Coupled with these disappointments was the cost of the meal (for one, mind you) which was about equal to what I pay back home at my favorite Mexican restaurant, but with my wife eating also.

I always end up assessing a restaurant by asking myself the question: Would I return or suggest it to friends? I am afraid in this case, I would have to answer: No.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manny's Mexican Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Manny's Mexican Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manny's Mexican Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.