We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Relaxing Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pine Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oconomowoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Pine Terrace
Save
You added Inn at Pine Terrace to your Saves list
351 E Lisbon Rd, Oconomowoc, WI 53066   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Oconomowoc B&B and Inns
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Relaxing Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Inn at Pine Terrace. The Inn is a beautiful, charming, historic building. It is with in walking distance to the lake and just a short drive to the town. Our room was comfortable and cozy. The owners, John and Ruth, were a delight to meet. I hope to return again this summer!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

A midweek excursion pre-Valentine's Day weekend to enjoy our four-year anniversary was absolutely wonderful. John, the new owner since November, is terrific! He is friendly and social; yet stays away and is not in your privacy when you wish to simply enjoy the place! Breakfast was outstanding--a European recipe from a family friend was shared with us--and fresh fruit and healthy granola/Greek yogurt start to our three-course meal was excellent! Room was quiet and clean and gorgeous. We didn't have champagne glasses packed--no problem! Congenial and welcoming and a refreshing change to the neighborhood! John acted as concierge and made our dinner reservation at the historic Red Circle Inn after our mentioning we wished to dine there. We will return and think you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed here in December and had a great stay. We had the Peter Schettler Room which is a beautiful whirlpool suite. Our hosts, John and Ruth owned another B and B in Mequon, WI, so are very experienced and highly rated. The Inn was decorated for Christmas and was warm and welcoming.
Breakfast was yummy, too. We had homemade waffles for breakfast with a plethora of choices of toppings. The coffee was strong and the orange juice fresh. John and Ruth sat with us for a time and gave us the history of the Inn and had great stories. My husband went cross country skiing at nearby Lapham Peak and I went shopping.
We would highly recommend a stay here and wish John and Ruth all the best! Thank you for a needed romantic respite before Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This review is cross-posted on other review sites. My apologies if you have seen this before.

My wife and I stay at the Inn at Pine Terrace at least once a year, usually as a January getaway.

The first time we stayed (years ago) it was run by a great guy named Rich. He had a desk staff person named Shirley who was just a joy to chat and do business with. They put out wine and cheese in the evenings, offered excellent buffet breakfasts and just made you feel at home.

Then about mid 2000s Rich decided to retire and sold the business to Mike & Kristen. We immediately felt the warmth disappearing from the Inn.

Wine and cheese reception went from stingy to non-existent. Servicing of the rooms went downhill. Same with breakfasts. Instead of a buffet style breakfast, it was doled out in stingy pieces, waitress style.

One time the maid service confiscated the Yankee Candles we brought for the jacuzzi and left a somewhat nasty note that "management does not allow candles in the rooms". Wha?

They hounded Shirley until she threw up her arms and quit.

Mike seemed to be enjoying his role as innkeeper but it was apparent that Kristen was barely tolerating it. These were folks from the left coast trying to run a B&B for the first time. I had hoped that they would grow into their new career but, sadly they remained rank amateurs.

Now we have veterans of the trade taking over in 2011. It was an unexpected treat to hear that we'll be seeing new innkeepers when we stay again in Feb. 2011. I look forward to meeting John and Ruth.

If I have one piece of advice for them it is this: find Shirley and get her back behind that desk!! I believe she still lives in Oconomowoc.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We were surprised to find that the Inn had new owners. They were charming and welcoming. We enjoyed the breakfast and our visit with the new owners, John and Ruth, and the other guests. The history of this old mansion is very interesting. We look forward to our next visit to Oconomowoc and the Inn at Pine Terrace. We would also recommend dinner at a local class A restaurant, the Golden Mast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

My husband and I went for a long-weekend get-away in December. We found the inn to be very quaint and cozy. The owner/staff were friendly and attentive. I like that you can look in the un-occupied rooms to see how each room is different. It is very close to downtown Oconomowoc, which is very festive during December. This was our first bed and breakfast experience and we can't think of anything we didn't like about our stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Pine Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pine Terrace

Address: 351 E Lisbon Rd, Oconomowoc, WI 53066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oconomowoc
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oconomowoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Pine Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.