We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Burke's Lakeside

Burke's Lakeside
37238 Valley Rd, Oconomowoc, WI 53066-4745
+1 262-567-5242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 75 Restaurants in Oconomowoc
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Irish, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: In April of 2010 when the space was completely renovated, and a large wraparound (soon to be legendary) deck was added overlooking the shores of beautiful Silver Lake. The dining room evokes a timeless design with rich dark cherry wood and centered on an enormous natural stone fireplace. There is also a banquet room that seats 200 with a hardwood dance floor and stage where live music is played every weekend. The bar is a classic design and perfect for enjoying happy hour, before and after dinner drinks, sporting events, and live music events. Burke's menu features American classics, such as aged grilled steaks like the signature "John Burke", stuffed meatloaf, the "Dorothy Burke" (our shrimp scampi feature) and Pabst Beer braised ribs. Regional American foods like cast iron salmon and the classic Friday hand battered fish fry are favorites of many. World cuisine items such as shepherd's pie, chicken schnitzel, artisanal flatbread pizzas and tapas platters can also be found on the menu, along with Burke's classic originals like lobster and shrimp wontons, crab cakes, and lobster macaroni. Whether you have a business meeting, special occasion, or just want a break from the ordinary, Burke's Lakeside is ready to make your night memorable. "It's cooler by the lake!"
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
“Friday night dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Burke's since they opened. They did a super job on the interior.
We liked it so much that we would go once a week. Either for the Friday Fish Fry or another night for something different. The menu had a variety of items to choose from and the food was always good.
But, the menu has changed it is small and very limited. One night I had the whitefish instead of the fish fry it was ok, the next time I tried it it was room temp and tasted fishy. I noticed on the menu that one night( I think Tuesday) the whitefish is a special and then it was a Chef's special on Friday night. Makes me question the freshness of the fish. Now they charge for any change you want to make. If you want baked instead of fries, if you want more veggies instead of any kind of potatoe etc.
Really! you are going to lose a customer because you think a baked potatoe is work $2.00 more than a pile of fries. The icing on the cake my daughter ordered the whitefish is comes with green beans with almonds. We specifically said she is allergic to almonds please NO almonds. The plate comes with almonds! Sorry to say we won't be back. I don't know what happened it use to be a great place we looked forward to once a week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    14
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“new menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our recent visit on a Sunday afternoon was a pleasant surprise. I had purchased a Groupon and we decided to give Burke's another try. Our first several experiences were ok. We started at the bar and just decided on a couple of beers to start with, the beer was cold and there was a great selection. The only problem was the bartender was in a hurry to settle our tab due to her shift ending in 15 minutes. We would have stayed for another beer but decided to go to a table where someone might want to serve us. We ordered off the lunch menu due to the time that we were there. I ordered a combination with a flat bread pizza and wedge salad my husband had a steak sandwich with waffle fries and a cup of chowder. Everything was excellent!!! The steak sandwich was tasty and tender, the pizza and the salad was fresh and tasty. i had a glass of wine with lunch and the waiter was knowledgeable and helpful with the wine selection. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Valentines Day Dinner- First Visit W/New Owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

As a former Restaurant guy and even a former employee of a restaurant that once stood here my wife and I were very pleased with the renovation. To be honest as we were once in this business we were very picky in our review (as you all should be). Aside for a few minor glitches our evening was terrific. Service was very good (I have a rule 25% tip or nothing). My wife's fillet was superb and my 'Shepherd's Pie' was good even with some undercooked potatoes. We ordered a bottle of wine as to avoid a 'short pour' we witnessed at the bar. Everyone has 'pet peeves' and we have ours. Paper table coverings my wife feels are tacky, I don't much care in a 'casual fine dining' restaurant/pub. My 'pet peeve' is 'fake Baileys' (when I order Baileys I want 'real' Baileys and I don't care what it costs). No Port/Porto for after dinner. The desert the server suggested turned out to be still frozen (to his surprise) so here's the kicker. The staff was very gracious in removing the Shepard's pie and the desert from the check and provided a cheesecake as a substitution which was very good. So all in all our visit was very good and we are planning to have a large family gathering there in June. Most of all we wish these folks all the best and in hopes that they will be super successful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
2 reviews
“Summer favorite spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good food & atmosphere. Service was a little slow. I like the setting on the lake. Burgers are good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Location and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wife and I had dinner here during the week. Food was great and the price was reasonable. Has the bar and lounge atmosphere along with the family dinner style as well. The wait staff does not match the quality of food, but are not rude or unprofessional. They simply don't match the style of the restaurant. Overall very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurkesLakeside, General Manager at Burke's Lakeside, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We're very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us at Burke's. We are always working to improve the service at our restaurant and will continue to work to achieve consistent, outstanding service.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burke's Lakeside also viewed

 

Been to Burke's Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burke's Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.