We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad dog smell & outdated decor.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center to your Saves list
Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 Royale Mile Road, Oconomowoc, WI 53066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oconomowoc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad dog smell & outdated decor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Besides the dark & dingy ambience, the entire place was over bearing with the foul oder of dog, due to the numerous dog events held there on a weekly basis. Great place if you like staying in a dungeon like atmosphere & constant barking of dogs. Also, watch where you step.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiceviola, Guest Relations Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear sequoiaspyder,

Thank you for your reviews on the Olympia Resort. I would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at our resort. We are in the process of renovations with the guest rooms.Renovations will include tearing down the guest room walls and re-drywalling them. New carpet, tearing down the wall paper and painting the walls. New bedding and more. After the renovations pet friendly rooms will only be located on the first and second floors, so the third and forth will be pet free allergy free rooms. If you would like to talk further about your stay, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,
Candice Bergemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    43
    63
    42
See reviews for
51
43
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crivitz, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in August and had a nice experience. We found the hotel quiet and comfortable but it is a little "worn" in some aspects. We enjoyed being able to relax in the spa (which was included with our room) and golf on the course at the resort. This is an older, established property that needs a little updating but there is some renovation going on as this is being written. They have a nice outdoor pool area as well as an indoor pool as well. The only snafu we experienced was when our room did not get made up the first day. We brought it to the attention of the front desk and everything got taken care of. We were there on a reduced rate because we were in town for a funeral so for the price, it was a great value. There are plenty of places to eat nearby or you can eat at the hotel. We would definitely stay there again, but maybe not at the full rack rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiceviola, Guest Relations Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Blase' Jose',
Thank you for your review on Olympia Resort. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience, and hope to see you many times in the future. The renovations should be done in the near future, we are hard at work with them.

Thank you,
Candice Bergemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent two very forgettable nights is this "resort". The staff is friendly but somewhat inept (i.e. they took the used soap but didn't leave any fresh bars behind, coffee maker left unclean, etc.). We got a $79 rate on their website which was too high considering the miserable condition of the entire property. The spa contains all the usual features (sauna, whirlpool, etc.) but because they were all lukewarm. Thus, they weren't enjoyable. The outdoor pool looked okay but was closed during our entire stay. I complained about the cold hot tub to no avail. The room was very standard and the bedding was slightly above average. Our TV set was ancient and picture quality was awful. The whole place really needs to be gutted and redone. Considering the condtion of this property we elected to eat elsewhere so I can't comment on the food.
Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiceviola, Guest Relations Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear JBLCK,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Olympia Resort. I would first like to apologize on the less than satisfactory stay you had at our resort. I have forwarded the information you have provided to each department manager, so they are able to inform there staff. I have also informed our engineers on the spa area not being warm enough. With the outdoor pool it will only be closed if it is less then 67 degrees outside or if it is storming out. I hope you chose to stay again in the future so we are able to rectify the your stay. If you would like to talk about your stay further I would love to hear from you.
Thank you,
Candice Bergemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oconomowoc hotels

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for about a week for a dog show. For $138./night I expected a clean room, polite staff & doors that worked! Too much to ask for I guess.
On check in there was everything from indifference to rudeness, the cleaning staff were friendlier (but the room remained less than clean).
Lovely site and I do understand that economics can play havoc with affording renovations, but being friendly, polite and vacuuming the months worth of dust & dirt from the carpet edges does not cost more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiceviola, Guest Relations Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Anna R,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I would first like to apologize on behalf of the front desk. Customer service is our number one priority and it is unacceptable not to give 100% to our guests, and make you feel welcome. I will also inform our housekeeping staff with the room cleaning information that you have provided to me. So that they are able to rectify the errors. I would like to talk with you further about your stay. If you have time feel free to to contact me.

Thank you,
Candice Bergemann
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Under much needed renovation.
Room not cleaned by 2:30.
Had makings for coffee in room..but NO pot. No remote in room for tv.
Light bulbs burned out on deck.
Spa service good but aroma therapy and spa music in lounge area would be a big plus.
Towels are VERY thin and small. Almost like a rag.
The plastic lounge chairs at the pool are the most uncomfortable things I've ever laid on.
Trying to cushion it with the rag quality towels they give you from the spa is a joke.
Gift/sundry store closed Tues & Wed. Open only a few hours the other days.

Room Tip: Very much needed Renovation going on but seems to be stalled for now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiceviola, Guest Relations Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Kauaiisheaven,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Olympia Resort & Spa. I would like to assure you that the renovations are still continuing, to try to make the best stay for each guest. I did forward your concerns and comments to our Spa and Housekeeping managers, so they are able to try to resolve any issues with there department. If you would like to discuss your stay further, feel free to contact me.

Thank you,
Candice Bergemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A friend and I stayed for a conference the first week of August. Room #131 was overlooking the parking lot and it was bad. The bathroom and vanity area are so old, stained, dirty and dated, it's not possible to make it sparkling clean anymore. There was old non-slip stuff in the tub. Carpets need to be replaced, as well as the paint and wallpaper, old bed spreads, curtains didn't close property. The whole room needs to be gutted. For some reason we couldn't park our cars in the lot closest to our room. The didn't tell us why, only that we could drop off our luggage and then had to move our car to the front parking lot - which was much further away. Buffet breakfast only - fair price $10.
They are going thru a renovation and we did not get a renovated room (obviously). But had I not read the sign, I wouldn't be able to tell that they had renovated anything. Certainly not the lobby, restaurant, bar or halls. Old furniture and decor throughout - VERY DARK, extremely bad lighting. The inside pool was murky and closed during the time we stayed. The outdoor pool looked nice - but I didn't use it. Most guests had brought their own beach towels - I did see some the tiny ones provided by the hotel.

The plus side is that it's near the expressway. There is a beautiful, newer Hilton Garden Inn a few blocks away - I wish I would have known that because I would have stayed there. We had a special conference price of $100. Otherwise, the room prices are comparable so check it out before you stay in this area.

Side note - My husband and I stayed at this resort 22 years ago - a weekend honeymoon. It was sad to see how badly it had deteriorated.

Room Tip: If you can't get in the Hilton Garden Inn and choose to stay here, ask for a room overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiceviola, Guest Relations Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Traveler016,
Thank your for taking the time to write your review on the Olympia Resort. Let me be the first person to apologize for the less then satisfactory stay you had at our Resort. As you had said we are currently in the midst's of renovations, unfortunately we have not started the process on the first floor yet. In the renovations the are remodeling the walls, carpet, and bathroom area's in the guest rooms, along with all new linens and comforters. I hope that you will give Olympia another chance when all of the renovations are complete. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me.
Thank you,
Candice Bergemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed on a deal from Rtown shopper, never treated like a "discount" shopper. Room linens were very nice and comfortable, bathroom tubs could use updating. If you know the rooms are a bit dated going in you won't be disappointed. While they do need to work on a few areas, they don't charge for every little extra and that made a big difference. Front desk clerk, Jessica, was very helpful with dining choices, hotel info. She really made this a wonderful stay. Stayed with teen sons and they had a blast playing the virtual golf game when tired of the swimming pool. Overall had a fun stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiceviola, Guest Relations Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Darboymom,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for The Olympia Resort and Spa. I have forwarded your review to our Front Desk Manager, so she can inform Jessie of the great job she is doing. At Olympia you never have to worry about being treated like a discount shopper, we enjoy helping every guest we have. We also welcome any type of coupons that anyone does have, and hope that you come back to visit us as much as possible.
Thank you,
Candice Bergemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Address: 1350 Royale Mile Road, Oconomowoc, WI 53066
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oconomowoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oconomowoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olympia Hotel & Conference Center is located in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin between Milwaukee and Madison, and just minutes of I-94. Olympia Resort has become known as one of the Midwest's premier destinations for retreats, reunions, romantic getaways, weddings, meetings and conferences. Olympia is surrounded by recreational lakes, nature and bike trails, shopping, and an active community! Here at Olympia, you'll find a 17,000 sq. Ft. Spa and fitness center offering therapeutic whirlpool tubs, roman baths, saunas, indoor and outdoor pools, state-of-the-art strength and cardio equipment along with a menu of services offered by our certified therapists including massage, facials, body wraps, pedicures, manicures and more! We invite you to join us at Rick's Restaurant where we offer a daily breakfast buffet, Friday fish fry, Our onsite evening venue, Club Indigo, offers happy hour, daily drink specials, seasonal sports on the big screen, pool tables, darts, virtual golf simulator, seasonal comedy nights (April-October), Friday karaoke and a Saturday night DJ who is sure to get you out on the dance floor! We hope you'll consider a stay with us! Be sure to ask about our covered motorcycle parking (based on availability). Amenities are subject to change based on groups in-house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Oconomowoc
Olympia Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.