We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center to your Saves list
Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 Royale Mile Road, Oconomowoc, WI 53066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oconomowoc
chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

I booked a spa getaway package for my sister and I and we both ended up getting sick...we suspect from the lack of cleanliness in the hotel and spa. The hotel lobby is nice enough, and the staff very friendly, but there is a level of dirtiness throughout the entire place. The room heating system is ancient and left us either freezing or boiling. One of the chairs in the room had the bottom fabric ripped and hanging from it. (I finished ripping it off because it looked horrible). The shower massage head was broken, and housekeeping didn't bring us coffee or coffee cups one day even though there is a coffee maker. The elevators and the hallways always smelled of something unpleasant, stale food, booze, mostly smoke from the hidiously smokey disco downstairs. The spa was in need of a serious face lift. The services were good, but the steam room and eucalyptus room had mold and mildew in the grout, the roman shower door was falling off and the shower didn't function properly. Of the hot/cold pools only the hot was filled and the cold was left with an inch of dirty disgusting water with stuff floating in it. Tiles were falling off the walls and the women's whirlpool, well, I sure as heck wasn't going in it! I never saw anyone cleaning anything ever... It was not a soothing "spa" experience at all. We both arrived healthy on a Thursday and by Sunday left with fevers and coughs and sore throats. And we both came in from different states....so we didn't get it before we got there. I would NOT go back to this resort. Not even all of the ammenities were available as promised via the internet....one bar was just closed, one snack and sandwich place was supposed to be open(but never was), the "stores" had dwindled down to one shop with a few samplings of over priced shirts and knick knacks. This was a birthday gift to my sister and I feel cheated. I do not reccommend this hotel!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    43
    63
    42
See reviews for
51
43
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

My wife and I were glad we decided on the Olympia Resort for our wedding and weekend celebration on October 5th & 6th. We could not have asked for a better weekend and were catered to by the Resort staff beyond our expectation. This was a great choice for an outdoor wedding and the Gazebo is located in a picturesque area of the resort grounds. This facility is spread out and you don't get the feeling of being cramped. The food for the reception was great along with the breakfast buffet at Rick's Cafe. The facility has gone through periodic upgrades to some areas that needed attention and will continue to make enhancements. Rooms were nice and roomy and the pool areas were clean. We did not make it to the Spa but from what I understand; there are a host of services provided.

There were a couple of our guests that had to deal with some late night partying from some other noisy travelers/guests. With any Resort/Hotel however; you have to put up with various guests were common sense isn't so common. If you look hard enough with any Resort/Hotel you can find something negative about it. As for us, we will be back for another stay at the Olympia Resort.

  • Liked — Great location and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing really stands out.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

A group of us booked a spa weekend at the Olympia Resort and it was a nightmare. A wedding party (with many extended party members) was allowed to go out of control in their block of rooms with no effort made by the property to protect other guests. Shouting in the halls, loud music and slamming doors continued until after 4 AM, when the local police came to evict the guests. And then the resort would not compensate or address the concerns of occupants who lost an entire night's sleep. Service in the dining room was spotty (on Friday evening, we couldn't even get a glass of water -- thank goodness it was a buffet or we would have starved!), the rooms were "tired" and need cleaning and updating, and spa services were deemed "less than average" by members of our group -- although the spa staff is very pleasant. I know that any hotel/resort can have an unfortunate incident, but it's the way they handle it that sets them apart. Clearly, Olympia Resort is not focused on guest satisfaction -- or return visits!

  • Liked — The prime rib dinner on Saturday
  • Disliked — Lack of security and concern for guests
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oconomowoc hotels

SW Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

Not worth $92 a night. Stayed here one night for a convention. Not clean. Bathroom in Rm 256 exhaust fan long broken and just absolutely filthy fan -all black and clogged with dirt. Wallpaper in bathroom beginning to peel from top of bathroom wall. 6 spots of mildew /black mold in grout about 1/2" to 1" size. Begining to rust the metal ceiling bars that hold the tile up. Very dusty baseboard area, just almost white should be green carpeting. Convention Expo area sprung leak (must have been a pipe) as it was sunny outside - fortunely we caught in time no damage to tables of items for sale in Expo area. Only 1 luggage cart available, although staff claims there are many. I seen one to get stuff to my room when I arrived and I begged one from people who had one 1/2 loaded but not using it in the hallway - after searching the hallways for 20 minutes- when I checked out. The onsite Resturant did have good service and good food. This actually is a great improvement from the previous stay for same convention 2 or 3 years ago, when the toilet didn't work and the heater/airconditioner unit didn't either. They need to continue to upgrade this old facilty. Lobby looks great.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

This resort has been rennovated to quite an extent since my last visit two years ago. The staff, while busy when I arrived, were very nice, friendly, and professional. The exercise room area had been totally redone, and that was a plus for me, as I work out quite a bit. Next time I will bring my family....they would love the pool and spa. The meeting room was a short distance away from the front desk, and everything was in order. I would recommend it to either business or family.

  • Liked — Service, meeting rooms, rooms, restaurtants.
  • Disliked — Distance from one room to the elevator.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2007

I stayed here for one night with a friend for a girls' spa getaway. This hotel is so outdated...we felt like we were in a timewarp back to the 80's. They even played bad 80's music in the restaurant. The whole place need to be renovated. Also, the public areas like the hallways, elevators and pool were dirty. We were given resort dollars to use, and also a coupon to use in the spa. We couldn't figure out why we had to physically give them the coupon--they made us go back to our room and get it even though they knew we had it. I had a 30 minute massage, which was ok. My friend had the same service, and didn't really enjoy it. One of the whirlpools in the spa was cold--don't know if that was supposed to happen? The room was adequate and clean, though. The water pressure in the shower fluctuated.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

I went there with a group from Chicago. When we arrived the front desk was overwhelmed because there was more than one group checking in.

We were given SPA coupons in our packets used them. We were later told that we had not paid for our services (we were interrupted at dinner!).

When we arrived, the whirlpool, sauna and a couple of other rooms were out of order.

They were totally booked for spa services.

The food was dreadful. Everything was buffet in the "Steakhouse" and it was warm not hot. Service was not that great. We had to ask for things such as soda/coffee several times before we got them.

It was my first spa experience and I won't be going back there again.

  • Liked — The bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — The service, the spa, the food.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Address: 1350 Royale Mile Road, Oconomowoc, WI 53066
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oconomowoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oconomowoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olympia Hotel & Conference Center is located in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin between Milwaukee and Madison, and just minutes of I-94. Olympia Resort has become known as one of the Midwest's premier destinations for retreats, reunions, romantic getaways, weddings, meetings and conferences. Olympia is surrounded by recreational lakes, nature and bike trails, shopping, and an active community! Here at Olympia, you'll find a 17,000 sq. Ft. Spa and fitness center offering therapeutic whirlpool tubs, roman baths, saunas, indoor and outdoor pools, state-of-the-art strength and cardio equipment along with a menu of services offered by our certified therapists including massage, facials, body wraps, pedicures, manicures and more! We invite you to join us at Rick's Restaurant where we offer a daily breakfast buffet, Friday fish fry, Our onsite evening venue, Club Indigo, offers happy hour, daily drink specials, seasonal sports on the big screen, pool tables, darts, virtual golf simulator, seasonal comedy nights (April-October), Friday karaoke and a Saturday night DJ who is sure to get you out on the dance floor! We hope you'll consider a stay with us! Be sure to ask about our covered motorcycle parking (based on availability). Amenities are subject to change based on groups in-house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Oconomowoc
Olympia Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.