We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottom of the Barrell Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverfront Inn

Riverfront Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riverfront Inn to your Saves list
Riverfront Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   814 North Knowles Avenue, New Richmond, WI 54017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Richmond
Mpls, MN
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bottom of the Barrell Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

No ice machines, higher quotes, no maid service, smells of trash through out the hotel, worse service in history, do not allow drinks or food in the Pool area including water and pop, rooms are unclean and who knows about if the sheets have been washed------need I say more. I would not recommend you walking around with your shoes off and check behind your bed for bedbugs.....just plain gross.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    3
    2
    25
See reviews for
16
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

What a horrible experience my stay was. From the moment I entered the hotel I knew it was a mistake, and it only got worse. The website did not portray this place in the right lighting or something. The entire place smelt super bad, so bad I had to buy a bottle of febreeze, there were knife marks on one wall, the walk out balcony (2nd level) had sheet rock for a floor! I thought I would fall through. What else, oh, the owners are extremely rude, don't know how to work their credit card machine, held onto two of our credit cards for a day, verbally attacked us, screwed up our reservations, there was garbage all over the halls etc and stacked on top of garbages, I could go on and on but there is no room here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Richmond hotels

Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

On the telephone and at check in the room rate was $85 per night, but upon check-out I am told the innkeepers wife made an error and the rate was actually $115 per night and now owed them an additional $60. Oh yes, and daily maid service does not occur daily.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Stayed at hotel for a wedding. It was one of the recommended sites. We were able to check in early which was nice, in order to change before the wedding. The room smelled of disinfectant or some other spray. Opened the window to air it out, and discovered it had no screen. Fortunately there were no bugs that got in, but really, I've never seen a window in a hotel in mosquito country without screens. The room was Blah...looked like a discount chain. No decorating, furniture cheap and tasteless.

Bathroom ceiling above the shower had black mold spots on it.
The bathroom sink was tiny, and there was no countertop. A "fleamarket " bedside stand was shoved between the front of the toilet and the wall, to put our things upon. The bathroom was clean, as was the main room.
There was no iron or ironing board in the room.
No hairdryer in the room.
No deadbolt, only a chain. Old fashion key entry.
There was a refrig and microwave, but didn't use it.

All in all, it would have been appropriately listed as a budget hotel. Appropriate rate would have been about 45-55 dollars, not the $93 spent.

  • Liked — able to get early check-in
  • Disliked — When the staff knocked and opened the door to peak in, 30 minutes before check out time.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

Greetings,

Yuck. What a disgusting and uncomfortable experience. Check in requires fluency in multiple languages. I requested to be on the second floor and were told none of them were available - - there were three cars in the parking lot - including mine. So I got the room right in front of the main door and parking lot facing the busiest road in the town. Riverfront Inn? There is no river - there are weeds in the back and a drainage ditch on the side but thats as close as they get to Riverfront.

The room was filthy. The bathroom had hair on the floor and toe nail clippings. The bed was uncomfortable. The room had no decor. You get a tiny round table with two folding chairs a small TV on a damaged dresser and two little night stands. One picture on the wall - just an ugly uninviting setting.

Lights did not work in the entry way inside the room. No closet.

The room had no interior door LOCK. I have never seen a hotel room that lacked a lock. It locked behind you when it closed, but there was no dead bolt or other lock inside - not even a chain. You had no way of preventing the entrance of anyone who might have a key- and as you see below anyone can get a key. Terrible security risk. I know is Wisconsin but come on. Given the front deck staff I would have liked to have been able to lock my doors.

The couple running the front desk sit at the counter in the evening with the lobby TV blaring - it can be heard all the way at the far end of the hall inside your room with the door closed. Just unheard of. They were rude, and unaccommodating. Moreover, at morning checkout they make you call them (I think they stay in a room upstairs because you have to dial #218 from the lobby desk) and then they just tell you to leave the key the desk and get out. Yeah thats real secure - no locks on the inside of the door and you leave the keys in plain site with no staff to prevent the "borrowing" of a key. One more reason you NEED a lock on your door.

The bathroom was a joke. They have those shower heads that require you to hold it with one hand and try to wash with the other - the wand style. No water pressure, no hot water - none!

To top it off I woke up at 3:30 am choking - a spider had crawled into my mouth activating the gage reflex.

All in all it was a disgusting experience that will not be repeated.

Stay in Hudson.

Good Luck

  • Liked — Seeing it in my rear view mirror
  • Disliked — no locks on doors, dirty, uncomfortable, noisy, internet did not work, just bad
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverfront Inn

Address: 814 North Knowles Avenue, New Richmond, WI 54017
Location: United States > Wisconsin > New Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Riverfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverfront Hotel New Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.